Guild wars anyone?

Chat about just about anything else

Guild wars anyone?

Postby AlabasterDragon on Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:53 pm

Hi I'm a new Linux user fresh off the XP congregation. I was wondering if anybody has been able to successfully play guild wars on Linux mint Daryna with wine. I've forum search for ways for the game to work, but the forums either say "use cedega" or give instructions on how to install it for a different type of Linux. I'll admit it I'm a noob, and if you guys tell me to RTFM I'll understand but at least point me in the right direction lol. So far I've installed wine, and installed guild wars through wine, but when I try to run it, it updates the game, the moment I try to launch the game, the resolution changes on my screen, and the guild wars program just shuts off. Any ideas?
AlabasterDragon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 11:10 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby alvaro.sim on Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:00 pm

you need to use cedega
alvaro.sim
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:46 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby molom on Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:58 pm

You don't need Cedega, there are two other solutions, wine is the complicated one and the easier one is PlayOnLinux, a review and the system software requirements can be found here - http://wine-review.blogspot.com/2008/01 ... linux.html and the deb file can be found here - http://www.playonlinux.com/en/download.html

All you have to do is install the latest deb and I think it should be up and running after that.

[EDIT]
I forgot another app for that as well, its called winedoors, which is also easy to use and install. It can be found here - http://www.wine-doors.org/wordpress/

Cheers,
molom
User avatar
molom
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby AlabasterDragon on Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:03 pm

I installed playonlinux but it did the same thing wine did. Whenever I would run the program the screen would go black, and the resolution would change, then the program would close.
AlabasterDragon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 11:10 pm

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby molom on Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:38 pm

Try winedoors that I suggested above and if that has the same result check the wine forums.

Cheers,
molom
User avatar
molom
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby kanishka on Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:14 am

I can play GW flawlessly on Daryna, with a simple (stupid) method I found.

1- I dual-boot Daryna and Win XP; GW is installed (and updated) on the XP partition
2- I installed Wine-doors in Daryna via the Software Portal
3- Out of curiosity, I right-clicked on the gw.exe file from Daryna, and chose "Open with Wine"...
4- The GW launcher started, loaded something and the GW icon greeted me in Daryna's desktop
5- I clicked on it... and GW started in full-screen, already updated and configured (without anti-aliasing), and I played it withouth a glitch! :shock:
6- I have to mention that I had to disable Compiz effects, otherwise the GNOME panels would be present even with full-screen GW
7- Also, anti-aliasing can not be activated (and I hear that there is no solution), and framerate is slower than in XP (but perfectly playable anyway).

That's it. I don't know if I was lucky or what, but anyway I am very impressed with Wine. I think that Cedega is now not worth time nor money...
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby Guest on Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:05 pm

Your method got me to see the game about to open and then, closed again. lol it was the biggest tease of the day.
Guest
 

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby kanishka on Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:32 am

Guest wrote:Your method got me to see the game about to open and then, closed again. lol it was the biggest tease of the day.

AARGH terrible!
Did you take a look at the Wine AppDB? There could be useful posts there (scroll down the page and you'll see a nice HowTo: http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=9194 )

Good luck! 8)
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby FyrFyt on Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:01 am

Take a look at this posthttp://wine-forum.org/showthread.php?t=18. It references a few sites that I used to get mine working. I still have a slight issue in full screen with the pointer not lining up correctly so I run it windowed (at a FPS cost). I am going to try that dual boot solution as I have in installed on my laptop to see if I can run full screen.

Post your results. I am sure we can get things working.

I will look up the keystrokes I use to implement full screen.
FyrFyt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:56 pm

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby Zwopper on Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:40 am

Don't forget to mail the developers of the games you like and ask them to make a Linux version.
If enough people do it, maybe some of the big software houses will wake up!
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby DandyGirl on Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:51 am

I've got a question. I've installed Guild Wars on my Mint box and it works far faster than it did in Ubuntu 7.10, but the problem is the graphics; lots of things and details are missing and the background is empty with the exception of a sky blue background (like 3D model pixel-tears). Is there a way that I can fix this?
DandyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby sundayrefugee on Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:44 am

Yes. Make sure Compiz is turned off, and make sure you put the -dx8 switch in the .exe ;) If that doesn't work, next put -noshaders. The -dx8 switch fixed me right up!
sundayrefugee
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:37 am

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby DandyGirl on Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:43 am

Sweet! It works. All I have to wait for now is the patches that it downloads :) Thanks sundayrefugee!
DandyGirl
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby cturtle on Sat May 03, 2008 9:13 pm

I can't believe how well this works. Just right-click the Gw.exe on the XP partition, select to run it with Wine, and "it just works".

Buggy in fullscreen mode, but flawless in windowed mode.

I used to subscribe to Cedega a while ago and GW was always a problem for me.
cturtle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:10 am

Re: Guild wars anyone?

Postby cturtle on Sat May 03, 2008 10:25 pm

Here's a neat trick for better-than-ever fullscreen performance.

I opened up the gw dekstop icon to find the wine executable syntax:

$ cat Desktop/Guild\ Wars.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Guild Wars
Exec=env WINEPREFIX="/home/cturtle/.wine" wine "F:\\Program Files\\Guild Wars\\Gw.exe"
Type=Application
StartupWMClass=Wine
Icon=2799_gw.0
GenericName[en_US]=
Comment[en_US]=

Then I took Exec variable's syntax and put it in a one-line script in my home directory:

$ cat gw.exe
env WINEPREFIX="/home/cturtle/.wine" wine "F:\\Program Files\\Guild Wars\\Gw.exe"

Then I stopped gdm (actually I disable it by default), and at the console from my home directory I ran:

startx ./gw.exe

That started up Guild Wars with no window manager taking up any resources! Try that on Windows! HA!
cturtle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:10 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Open chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests