Tired of Reinventing the Wheel

Chat about just about anything else

Tired of Reinventing the Wheel

Postby mister_mm on Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:08 am

There is a program I have enjoyed using in linux over the years - TvTime. But it seems as though every new distro or every uprade to an older one makes it more difficult to configure. I ran TvTime in Mandrake 10.0, 10.2 and Mandriva 2006. Never could get it to work in Mandriva 2007. It worked in Ubuntu the last one was 7.04. In 7.10 I get a picture but can't change channels and I have no sound.
In Linux Mint I have no sound. Installed OSS and now I have no sound at all. I just can't understand why when an operating system is upgraded why that which used to be easy to get working now becomes a major headache. It's like reinventing the wheel and making it oval shaped. Sometimes newer isn't always better. Just better looking perhaps. Anyway the TV card I have been using for 5 years now works beautifully in WinXP. I hate to say this as I'll probably use Win more. I'm just tired of spending hours and hours trying to configure Linux. Time for a new hobby. Ubuntu 7.10 and Linux Mint beat me. And I am old and tired. mm
mister_mm
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Tired of Reinventing the Wheel

Postby Husse on Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:49 pm

Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Postby yamawho on Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:42 am

mister_mm wrote: I hate to say this as I'll probably use Win more. I'm just tired of spending hours and hours trying to configure Linux.

I've been there a few times myself.
I find it's better to go with the flow and not stress about things too much.
I triple boot on this system but I boot in Mint all the time.
I only boot to windows now and then to see if it still works :lol:

However, if you only have one system and don't have others to fall back on, I can understand the major headache.
ImageImage
yamawho
Level 3
Level 3