GMA 3600 works under Mint 14 Cinnamon Live, not installed

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

GMA 3600 works under Mint 14 Cinnamon Live, not installed

Postby Kruno on Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:03 pm

I have a realy strange situation.

Booted live Mint 14 Cinnamon edition on Acer Aspire One D270 (Atom N2600, GMA 3600) and X11 was working fine.

After install X11 fails with:
Fatal server error:
no screens found


Is there a way to get running xorg config from live cd? Does live cd have support for GMA 3600 and regular does not?
Kruno
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:48 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: GMA 3600 works under Mint 14 Cinnamon Live, not installe

Postby mank_in on Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:00 am

LM 14 Cinnamon live cd ( not a new 14.1 ISO ) use gallium llvmpipe software rendering , but after installed will use Mesa DRI rendering. see : http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2234
I don't know if 14.1 ISO will correcting your problem. I didn't have intel GMA 3600 to try.
You can try add nomodeset to force software rendering .
while booting, hold shift keys until grub option appeared . press "e" to edit.
insert line : nomodeset after quiet splash
press ctrl + x to boot

update : i read a lot of people cannot boot aspire one D270 to ubuntu 12.10 ( LM 14 parent ), but boot with software rendering to ubuntu 12.04 ( LM 13 ). see : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2074161
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali


Return to Graphic Cards & Monitors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests