Green Stripe On screen

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Green Stripe On screen

Postby Brianivander on Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:45 am

There is a green stripe on my screen. It only appears sometimes.

Image
green by Brian Ivander, on Flickr

I have docky on the right side of the screen (it's hiding when I took the screenshot)

What causes that green stripe? Is it because of an application or is it a bug/problem with LM?
It appears when I used LM13 Mate and now with LM14 Cinnamon 32 bit it still appears.

Any help will be appreciated! :)

Cheers!
Brian
Brianivander
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Green Stripe On scree

Postby bigj231 on Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:22 am

Does it do it in any other Operating Systems? (like Windows or OSX) What GPU do you have, and are you using the proprietary drivers? We need more information here.
What's the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -F

Also, This thread isn't in the right section for future reference. This is more of a support request than help or ideas with customizing Mint.
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere

Re: Green Stripe On screen

Postby zerozero on Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:13 pm

moved here
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6472
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Green Stripe On scree

Postby Brianivander on Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:41 am

bigj231 wrote:Does it do it in any other Operating Systems? (like Windows or OSX) What GPU do you have, and are you using the proprietary drivers? We need more information here.
What's the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -F

Also, This thread isn't in the right section for future reference. This is more of a support request than help or ideas with customizing Mint.


Code: Select all
 $ inxi -f
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3 CPU M 350 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           Clock Speeds: 1: 933.00 MHz 2: 933.00 MHz 3: 933.00 MHz 4: 933.00 MHz
           CPU Flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts
           acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts xtopology nonstop_tsc
           aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm arat dtherm
           tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid


I guess it's because of the dock. I use docky. And when I point my mouse to the dock, the stripe disappears. Then I move it away, it appears. I don't know if it happens in all computers, but when I used LM13 Mate, the stripe also appeared, that time I used cairo dock.
Again I want to say that that the stripe only appears sometimes. But when it appears, it's annoying. Thanks for the response. :)
Brianivander
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 12:21 pm

Re: Green Stripe On screen

Postby bigj231 on Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:58 am

It very well could be a bug with Cinnamon or Docky. If you disable the dock, does the stripe go away? If you run Docky in without autohide, does it go away? The only thing I can think of is that it might be highlighted, and the highlight is green. Change your theme so that your highlighting is a different color (i.e. blue) and see if the stripe changes.
Also, there is a difference between 'inxi -f' and 'inxi -F'. The one you did lists the CPU flags, not the system information. :)
Running on a 4-slot toaster @ 60Hz
User avatar
bigj231
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:16 am
Location: Middle of Nowhere


Return to Graphic Cards & Monitors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests