Geforce GTX 650 on Nadia 64?!

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Cityscape

Geforce GTX 650 on Nadia 64?!

Post by Cityscape »

Hi all,

I'm very new to Linux Mint. I've used Ubuntu since 2009 although I have not used Linux much in the last year as my iPhone can do a lot my basic stuff (emails etc).

I'm building a new PC and thinking about using an Nvidia Geforce GTX 650 card. :D How does this card work with Linux Mint or Linux in general? I was planning to get this because a lot o people say that Nvidia works better with Linux. I am planning to use the proprietary drivers because I want the best performance from the card that is possible. Is the proprietary driver very hard to install?

And how is the state of 64 bit Linux btw? I know back when I used to use Linux a lot more the 64 bit versions weren't all the way there yet.

I'm really hoping that someone can give me some advice on graphics cards! 8)

Adam :mrgreen:
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Geforce GTX 650 on Nadia 64?!

Post by xenopeek »

I had a look at the hardware compatibility database, as reported by Linux Mint users, but I couldn't find your specific card there: http://community.linuxmint.com/hardware/search. If the GTX 670 is similar, that is reported to work perfectly: http://community.linuxmint.com/hardware/view/14016.

As for installing the proprietary drivers, that should normally be easy. Open Menu > Preferences > Software Sources and from the Additional Drivers tab install the driver you want (on Linux Mint 14; on Linux Mint 13 you would find Additional Drivers as a standalone program in your menu).