Cannot set brightness

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Cannot set brightness

Postby Chazzers on Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:47 pm

My screen brightness is set too high by default, and I cannot find any way to change it. The "Brightness and Lock" section in Settings does not have any brightness options. It just has options for turning off the monitor and screen lock. If I enable the Brightness applet it just says "Brightness not available".

I see some people have used step 1m here, viewtopic.php?f=42&t=86813 . However, my /sys/class/backlight folder is empty.

I am using a desktop PC with an AMD card, with Nadia-Cinnamon. I am using the default (open source drivers).

Does anyone know a solution?
Chazzers
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cannot set brightness

Postby QuotidianMe2 on Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:03 pm

Chazzers, are you sure there's nothing in the "Brightness and Lock" area. In mine there's what looks like a green line immediately beneath the word "Brightness," and it's a slider. Below is a pic with the slider button moved to the left a bit.

Screenshot of Bright.png


I'm afraid I can't be any more help than that. Looking at the number of posts about this problem (I have the same problem), it's not entirely uncommon. :?
QuotidianMe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Cannot set brightness

Postby roblm on Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:03 pm

Chazzers wrote: If I enable the Brightness applet it just says "Brightness not available".


The Brightness applet is only for laptops. Otherwise the brightness slider in Brightness and Lock does not show up. If you had an Nvidia
graphics card, then I could help you better. After installing a proprietary Nvidia driver, a settings utility is installed along with a configuration
file that allows you to adjust the brightness level, however, it is a little tricky. Perhaps if you installed a proprietary AMD driver a similar settings utility would be installed.
User avatar
roblm
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm


Return to Graphic Cards & Monitors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests