Upgrading card from Nvidia to AMD - tips?

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Condorman
Level 4
Level 4

Post by Condorman »

Hi all. :)

Decided to finally (finally!) upgrade my graphics card. I've been running a wonderful Asus EN9800GT for what must be 7 years now, and it's never let me down. But, I'm seeing it struggle these days with some of my Steam purchases, and the time has come to move it out.

After some research, I decided on the Sapphire Radeon R7 250X (here - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00I ... d_i=468294). There's a bigger brother for like £25 more (R7 260X), but I don't do a great deal of heavy modern gaming. The one I've chosen fits the bill.

I run Linux Mint as my main OS, and have never done a straight card swap from one vendor to another. Is there anything I need to be mindful of before sticking it in? Do I have to remove the Nvidia driver first, then install the Catalyst one? Can I just plug it in and make adjustments later? I honestly wouldn't have a clue, so if anyone here has any handy tips or things I need to know before embarking please post up your advice.

Many thanks Mint fans!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Upgrading card from Nvidia to AMD - tips?

Post by Pjotr »

Are you sure? In Linux, as a rule Nvidia video cards are *always* preferable over ATI / AMD video cards....

Reason: Nvidia produces fine Linux drivers, while ATI / AMD doesn't invest enough in the quality of its Linux drivers.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
Condorman
Level 4
Level 4

Post by Condorman »

Pjotr wrote:Are you sure?