Linux hates high resolution monitors

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
floortester

Linux hates high resolution monitors

Post by floortester »

I have 4 computers, 3 running various flavours of Windows and a Linux PC connected through a KVA.

All the Windows PC will happily run at 1920*1200 on my 24" screen without any additional work but whatever version of Linux I use it will only run 1024*768, and once new drivers are installed, at 1360*768, at its maximum which makes the screen tiring to use and stops its use for photos, video or graphics work.

I only use it now for emails as even the internet is unpleasant to watch

I have tried Suse 8,11; Ubuntu 8,10,11,12 & 14 and Mint 10, 12, 13,15 & now 17 to no avail, I have copious copies of the recommendations, some of which as a newbie I find totally incomprehensible.

I have replaced my video card a couple of times but that has not produced any results, although the system does recognise the card -viz
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 630] [10de:0f00] (rev a1)
Subsystem: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 630] [10de:0f00]
Kernel driver in use: nvidia
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0bea] (rev a1)

System is
GA-MA78G-DS3H motherboard
AMD Phenom 9850 Quad core processor
4gb memory
SSD 120gb
KinuxMint 17 3.13.0.24-generic
MATE 1.8.0

The only common component is AMD, I only use their processors in PC's and even the older versions of Linux were running on AMD.

I took the SSD from my neighbours PC where it was running quite happily at 1920*1200 on its onboard graphics and plugged it on mine, resolution dropped like a stone!!

Any Thoughts

Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Distro-Don