Automatically install NVIDIA drivers

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
subjectification

Automatically install NVIDIA drivers

Post by subjectification »

Hi,

I'm quite new to Linux. When my new laptop arrived, I wanted to use Mint, but I couldn't install the NVIDIA graphics driver. I switched to ubuntu, turned off the grub splash (the only way I could get anything to show on the screen after pressing ctrl alt f1), exited from the x server, made the driver download executable, and installed it that way. Last night, the ubuntu kernel updated itself and the drivers stopped working - I also lost the ability to login (I think this was a separate issue, as I was still unable to login after booting from the previous kernel). I took this opportunity to reinstall Mint and give it another shot.

There is a lot of information on getting NVIDIA drivers to work, and much of it doesn't work (I assume it's outdated). The above process isn't working for me (I can't see anything after pressing ctrl alt f1 despite removing the splash line from grub and running sudo update-grub2), and in any case, I would prefer not to do it manually so that I don't run into problems whenever my software updates. I would be grateful if someone could explain how I could go about installing the drivers in a way that they are automatically integrated with any software updates (or explain how I would go about it manually).

I'm also new to the command line, so I would also appreciate it if you could explain any non-obvious commands to the terminal (obvious for me would be sudo get-nvidia-driver or something like that - non obvious to me would be e.g. chmod -x -ls -rm /etc/default/grub -xbar.ppa).

I'm running Mint 17.1

Many thanks in advance.