[Solved] NVIDIA Driver Does Not Work on Dell Latitude E6520

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[Solved] NVIDIA Driver Does Not Work on Dell Latitude E6520

Postby piuforte on Wed Dec 14, 2011 9:49 pm

Greetings! I'm new to Linux and liking it very much. My problem is that the NVIDIA driver on my Dell laptop does not work. Compiz and 3D effects don't work. Neither does the HDMI port (VGA is OK).

The following information appears for Menu>Additional Drivers:
"No proprietary drivers are in use on this system.
NVIDIA accelerated graphics driver (version current) [Recomended]
* This driver is activated but not currently in use."

NVIDIA X Server Settings returns the following error:
"You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server."

I ran nvidia-xconfig as root in the terminal. However, after restart only a dark screen appeared, and, without a command line, I was unable to do anything. Fortunately, I figured out how to reboot in safe graphics mode and return to the previous graphics settings.

I've been trying different solutions in Linux and Ubuntu forums, but none seem to work. For instance, one source recommended disabling Optimus in BIOS (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1726575), but this makes the graphics very crude. Another source suggested to navigate to /etc/X11/xorg.conf and edit the driver line to read Driver "nvidia"...and then restart/kill/restart the X server. However, there is *no* "xorg.config" file in the x11 folder, only "xorg.config.backup" and "xorg.config.failsafe." (In xorg.config.backup the driver is listed as Nvidia)

Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thus far, I've been able to recover from my missteps, but I'm in way over my head. Below is the relevant info for my computer:

jf@jf-Latitude-E6520 ~ $ inxi -v 4 G