mint is really great, BUT...............

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please

mint is really great, BUT...............

Postby trippboxer on Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:37 am

i am new to linux so therefore some of you are going to dismiss me as a noob. but fact is i am really wanting to get into linux bad. the problems that i am having with linux, all distros, is that i can never get my wireless internet to work right off hand. when i do research on it i find that there is more code typing than anything else in regards to fixing the problem.

now linux is an excellent system. i like it because of the speed, freedom, and stability. right now linux, most distros, are on the verge of greatness. the only thing that stands in the way of mainstream usage for the mindless microsoft users is simplicity of use. there are only two programs that would be necessary to allow more people to migrate away from the tyranny of microsoft and i am surprised that no one has made them. and if they have then i am mistaken. here are the programs that need to be in circulation with all distros.

1. a software installation program that scans the software, finds out what kind of software it is (deb or rpm or anything else) and easily installs it in a simplistic way using a GUI.

2. a wireless program that automatically detects hardware and engages it and automatically searches for and connects to any wireless internet point in range. (microsoft already has this, and so it stands to reason that linux should also)