Is using Mint for commercial purposes allowed?

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
sonicdawg

Is using Mint for commercial purposes allowed?

Post by sonicdawg »

I am new to Mint, but if I'm not mistaken, it is not purely GPL. I looked at versions of Mint prior to 17, and noticed that a version "without codecs" is distributed. This reminded me of certain software whose license agreements prohibit commercial use. I do not have enough information to know whether the version distributed with codecs prohibits commercial use.

What are the differences between the Mint version that includes codecs and the Mint version that doesn't? Does either version prohibit me from using Mint for commercial purposes (e.g. within my company)?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Is using Mint for commercial purposes allowed?

Post by xenopeek »

That really depends on how exactly you intend to use it commercially. I'll give a multi-part answer.

The no-codecs version will be released later. It is intended for distributors in USA, Japan, and other countries that have software patents. Some of the software included with Linux Mint is known to infringe on software patents in certain countries. To avoid legal trouble for distributors of Linux Mint (magazines, computer shops, etc.) there is a no-codecs version that at least doesn't include those pieces of software.

BTW, also released later is a version intended for OEMs (where user account setup is done upon first boot after installation instead of during installation).