Partitioning on instalation

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please

Partitioning on instalation

Postby Psycho on Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:34 pm

Hey Guys!

What I dislike about the instalationprocess in most distributions is the part with the partitioning. OK, it is not really a problem for me but it could be a lot easier! Why, for example, should anybody format the whole harddisk to instal linux on a single partition? I guess this happens once in a million. Other recommendations would be more useful.

My suggestion would be to add an option "replace current linux-partitions with mint-linux". For example all HDA-partitions and the swap could be formated and afterwards Linux Mint installed on the partition where the previus root-system was.

Althouht I am not really a good programmer i guess this should not be that hard to implement and it would help people who are switching from other distros, like ubuntu. Also I think it would be something new which could make Linux Mint more popular.

What do you think about it? :wink:
Psycho
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Partitioning on instalation

Postby scorp123 on Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:54 pm

Psycho wrote: Why, for example, should anybody format the whole harddisk to instal linux on a single partition?
That would be wrong anyway. Putting a UNIX-like OS into one single partition is bad bad bad bad bad. If you do this as admin in a professional environment it will cost you your job :wink:

Psycho wrote: My suggestion would be to add an option "replace current linux-partitions with mint-linux".
And what if I have more than one distro already on the system? :?

Psycho wrote: i guess this should not be that hard to implement and it would help people who are switching from other distros, like ubuntu.