32 Bit vs 64 Bit

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please

Re: 32 Bit vs 64 Bit

Postby AlbertP on Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:59 am

As I said before you have to install the PAE kernel to use >4GB of RAM by default on 32-bit systems. On 64-bit systems it's working out-of-the-box.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6502
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 32 Bit vs 64 Bit

Postby linuxviolin on Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:42 pm

ilovelinux wrote:My laptop has only 3GB RAM, and I run 64bit Mint 10 on it and 64bit OS works much better than any 32bit OS I've used on it.

AlbertP wrote:Same goes for me on 2GB, 3GB and 4GB laptops. 64-bit just runs snappier without too much downsides.

Well, good for you, although I'm not sure, but not for me, at least on one of my desktops with 2 GB RAM. Oh and why not also with 1 GB RAM? lol :mrgreen:

On this 2 GB RAM desktop I tried a 64 bit Linux version but the things were not so "smooth" and fast as expected, even sometimes it was almost the contrary. Then I have installed the 32 bit version and now this desktop flies and is fast. The people who use it are more happy now. :D

64 bit is not necessary for everything and even sometimes can be slower than 32 bit. So, use 64 bit if you have *really* need of it. Install 64 bit just because you can but not need can be err... :roll: :mrgreen:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Re: 32 Bit vs 64 Bit

Postby Aethyr on Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:27 pm

linuxviolin wrote:
ilovelinux wrote:So, use 64 bit if you have *really* need of it. Install 64 bit just because you can but not need can be err... :roll: :mrgreen:


Not strictly true. If you can run 64 bit, there's no harm in giving it a go, even if you don't really "need" it. I have a Pentium D desktop, the CPU is capable of running a 64 bit OS but I didn't know that for a long time, I used to run 32 bit OSs on it. LMDE 64 bit has been literally flying though, it's much much better, smoother and more stable than 32 bit Linux ever was - it beats my previous Ubuntu, Mint, LMDE and Arch installations by miles. While I don't strictly need to run 64 bit on it, it manages the extended 3 GB RAM much better with a 64 bit OS and CPU usage is so much lower that it's not even funny, since the 32 bit kernel never managed the 2 CPUs properly, instead overloading one of them all the time and never using the other (even though it detected both).

On the other hand, I get the feeling that a newer Core 2 machine might need a downgrade to 32 bit instead, which I'll try over the Christmas holiday. It really depends on the hardware, you never really know until you try IMO. I suppose if you're really hardware-savvy you might be able to tell just from the specs but... trial and error is the best way to learn computers as far as I'm concerned :mrgreen:
Arch user now. Inactive for indefinite amount of time.
Aethyr
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:05 am

Previous

Return to Non-technical Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests