How did you "learn" Linux?

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
moveright

How did you "learn" Linux?

Post by moveright »

Just curious, I'm a linux noob but I do love it. It seems to be a wonderful OS but I know very little about how it works. In other words, EVERY time I need to do something that involves the terminal, I have to post a new thread in a forum!

Back in the days, I was self taught and knew DOS inside and out. I learned about directory structure, DOS commands, etc... Back then, EVERYTHING was a terminal window.

But now, I've been so used to windows for so long, I get completely lost with 'sudo this' and 'apt that'.

Any suggestions on where I can go to learn the fundamentals of linux so that in the future, when someone tells me on a forum to do something, I don't have to ask for exact syntax which I can cut and paste>?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
MaddogF16

Re: How did you "learn" Linux?

Post by MaddogF16 »

Could start here: http://www.linux.com/learn
vrkalak

Post by vrkalak »

I compiled and collected all sorts of things you want to know in this Thread.

Linux: Tricks of the Trade > http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=38355

A great way to learn > Read everything.

:D . . . hope you find this useful.
trollboy

Post by trollboy »

How did I learn Linux? I didn't; instead I learned to do the things I needed to do and picked up some other stuff on the way.