Future of Gnome with Linux Mint?

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
lngndvs

Future of Gnome with Linux Mint?

Post by lngndvs »

I'm a newcomer to Linux Mint, although I've been using GNU/Linux for 18 years or so. I've defected, as it were, from Ubuntu, because I cannot seem to get an installation together that works for me, after I moved to Ubuntu 11.10 Beta. I wanted kernel 3.0.1, for support for the wireless adaptor of my HP laptop (ralink).

The setup of the Linux Mint Gnome desktop is the most intuitive one I have found---for me. After experimenting with Kubuntu, Xubuntu, and Ubuntu 11.11 (Beta), I am left to worry what is going to happen to Gnome. This Gnome 2.32 is working really well, and I have found precompiled binaries on line for the Linux-3.0.1 kernel. I am happy now. More, I like the way Linux Mint is set up.

This all begs the question, again, where will Gnome 3 lead to?

Alan
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14

Re: Future of Gnome with Linux Mint?

Post by tdockery97 »

According to Clem in the most recent Mint Blog posting: