Not possible to specify a manufacturer in the hardware DB

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please

Not possible to specify a manufacturer in the hardware DB

Postby AlbertP on Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:46 pm

Hi all,

Since the community website has been refreshed, I have to specify a manufacturer from the list and can't type a name that doesn't yet exist in the hardware database. This way, I can't add my Safeway SW-20 keyboard because Safeway is not yet in the list.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Not possible to specify a manufacturer in the hardware D

Postby DrHu on Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:27 pm

You usually just need an /etc/X11/xorg.conf file with keyboard settings to get most special function keyboards working correctly..
http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/foru ... neak-devel
--that project might be dead, but claimed to offer a way to setup a keyboard (those special key type, internet buttons etc..)
http://www.themoreiknow.info/R3000Z_web ... neakkb.def
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6911
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Not possible to specify a manufacturer in the hardware D

Postby AlbertP on Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:38 am

I just want to add to the hardware database that this keyboard is working perfectly out-of-the-box. 20 of the 21 special keys on top of the keyboard work out-of-the-box. I don't need you to solve keyboard problems as my keyboard is already working.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Not possible to specify a manufacturer in the hardware D

Postby Oscar799 on Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:55 am

I emailed Clem about this - we need to find a way to do this without letting the list get in a mess again
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8902
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Not possible to specify a manufacturer in the hardware D

Postby AlbertP on Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:40 am

Perhaps a moderator to check the first X hardware items of a user?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Non-technical Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests