[Solved] Community Website

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please

[Solved] Community Website

Postby mgant on Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:17 pm

I've been using Linux Mint since version 11 (long time linux user) and have found that there is a lot of links (tutorials, docs) on the Community Website. However, the Community Website is down and has been down for several months. There doesn't seem to be any additional details on why it is down.

Is it ever coming back? Is it possible to find the content that was on the community website somewhere else?

Mike
Last edited by mgant on Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Community Website

Postby dagon on Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:48 pm

I don't know when it was down last but It's been up for the last months or so. Just try it again!
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: Community Website

Postby mgant on Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:43 pm

dagon wrote:I don't know when it was down last but It's been up for the last months or so. Just try it again!


Oh, I've been trying it again and again and again...so if you click on this link http://community.linuxmint.com/, right now, it loads for you? Not for me and hasn't ever since I've been using mint for the past year or so. Is that the correct URL?

This is the result after several minutes of trying to connect with firefox:
mint_community.jpeg
mint_community.jpeg (33.47 KiB) Viewed 1625 times
Last edited by mgant on Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Community Website

Postby dagon on Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:50 pm

Yes. That link worked for me. Here's a link to an idea:
http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/view/2523

Maybe try another browser or disable some add-ons?
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: Community Website

Postby mgant on Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:55 pm

dagon wrote:Yes. That link worked for me. Here's a link to an idea:
http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/view/2523

Maybe try another browser or disable some add-ons?


Can you tell me what's in that link since I can't get to it?
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Community Website

Postby dagon on Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:05 pm

mgant wrote:
dagon wrote:Yes. That link worked for me. Here's a link to an idea:
http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/view/2523

Maybe try another browser or disable some add-ons?


Can you tell me what's in that link since I can't get to it?

Just a random post to see if you could sneak past the main page.

Are you registered at the community site?
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: Community Website

Postby mgant on Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:27 pm

dagon wrote:
mgant wrote:
dagon wrote:Yes. That link worked for me. Here's a link to an idea:
http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/view/2523

Maybe try another browser or disable some add-ons?


Can you tell me what's in that link since I can't get to it?

Just a random post to see if you could sneak past the main page.

Are you registered at the community site?


Nope. Again, I cannot get to the site at all, to do anything. I've tried Chrome and Konqueror they both time out after several minutes. I've disabled all Firefox plugins and still no success.

This is the error from Konqueror a little more details:
konq1.jpeg
konq1.jpeg (77.97 KiB) Viewed 1622 times
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Community Website

Postby dagon on Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:52 am

I don't know what's going on here so the only ideas I have about it is:
-The konquerer picture suggests that you could be behind "A Network Firewall".
-Did you ever try the "Domain Blocker" utility?

I'll try and see if someone else has a clue.

Ps. When you get a text message it's a good idea to copy and paste the message as text instead of taking a screenshot if possible.
It's much easier to search a part of the message that way.
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: Community Website

Postby dagon on Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:23 pm

For future reference, in case you fail to connect to a site again this one could come in handy:
http://www.isup.me/
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: Community Website

Postby xenopeek on Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:29 pm

Please check your DNS resolving for community.linuxmint.com. To do so, open a terminal and run:
Code: Select all
dig community.linuxmint.com

This should output something similar to:
Code: Select all
; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> community.linuxmint.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 59949
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;community.linuxmint.com.   IN   A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
community.linuxmint.com. 20931   IN   A   109.203.104.18

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns1.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns2.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns3.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns4.servage.net.

;; Query time: 24 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.254#53(192.168.1.254)
;; WHEN: Sun Apr 15 18:25:55 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 140

Please share the output of the command as run on your machine.
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13708
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Community Website

Postby mgant on Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:55 pm

Vincent Vermeulen wrote:Please check your DNS resolving for community.linuxmint.com. To do so, open a terminal and run:
Code: Select all
dig community.linuxmint.com

This should output something similar to:
Code: Select all
; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> community.linuxmint.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 59949
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;community.linuxmint.com.   IN   A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
community.linuxmint.com. 20931   IN   A   109.203.104.18

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns1.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns2.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns3.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.      1830   IN   NS   ns4.servage.net.

;; Query time: 24 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.254#53(192.168.1.254)
;; WHEN: Sun Apr 15 18:25:55 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 140

Please share the output of the command as run on your machine.


I tried this yesterday. And get the same results (same IP address):

Code: Select all
; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> community.linuxmint.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23218
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 5

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;community.linuxmint.com.       IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
community.linuxmint.com. 7711   IN      A       109.203.104.18

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
linuxmint.com.          15067   IN      NS      ns3.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.          15067   IN      NS      ns2.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.          15067   IN      NS      ns4.servage.net.
linuxmint.com.          15067   IN      NS      ns1.servage.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.servage.net.        3451    IN      A       77.232.76.16
ns2.servage.net.        3451    IN      A       217.70.42.5
ns3.servage.net.        3451    IN      A       77.232.66.6
ns4.servage.net.        74      IN      A       77.232.81.1
ns4.servage.net.        74      IN      AAAA    2a01:3b0:1:f9::ff

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.0.5#53(192.168.0.5)
;; WHEN: Sun Apr 15 13:46:08 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 232


Furthermore yesterday when I entered http://109.203.104.18 in a browser the cinnamon desktop website came up. Today, nothing it times out (just like the community site).
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Community Website

Postby mgant on Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:13 pm

dagon wrote:For future reference, in case you fail to connect to a site again this one could come in handy:
http://www.isup.me/


Cool site! Unfortunately it's me. I have no idea, why. I do not have a firewall enabled or a domain blocker of any type (to the best of my knowledge).

Hmm, I'm off to check log messages to see if they offer any clues.

Thanks,
Mike
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Community Website

Postby xenopeek on Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:32 pm

Perhaps give traceroute a try?
Code: Select all
traceroute 109.203.104.18

It might not be installed by default, but then it will tell you what package to install if it is not.

And do you have the option to try the Community website from another operating system, or another computer on the same network? (Like a buddy's laptop.) That might be informative. If that also doesn't work, I'd suggest trying to get a new IP address. You can try to force this by switching off and later switching on again your broadband modem (I think that is how it can be done; alternative is to login to the broadband modem and do it from there).
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13708
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Community Website

Postby mgant on Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:34 pm

Well, this is truly a mystery. There is nothing in my log files that indicate anything for the community website URL or IP.

In the vastness of the Internet, this is the only site that I'm aware of that I cannot access.

If anyone associated with the community website could tell me what their logs indicate, I would be grateful for the help.

Thanks,
Mike
Last edited by mgant on Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Community Website

Postby AlbertP on Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:13 am

You should ask your ISP on this instead of publishing your IP on the forum.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6504
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Community Website

Postby mgant on Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:55 pm

The response from my ISP was,

"We were getting a denial of service attack from that subnet. I'll assume that has been fixed and unblock it."

Thanks everyone.
mgant
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: [Solved] Community Website

Postby xenopeek on Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:26 am

Thanks for taking action and clearing the way for other users of Linux Mint with your ISP!
Forum Rules | IRC Channel Rules
Image
Arch Linux / 64-bit / Gnome Shell
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 13708
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Non-technical Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests