201204 Xfce LMDE is lookin'...

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

201204 Xfce LMDE is lookin'...

Postby tek_heretik on Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:59 am

pretty good, gunna give it a whirl. I so miss clean/normal icons, etc, and a normal/functional desktop, I am so sick of the smart-phone GUI craze, ARRRRRRRRRRG!
Core 2 Quad Q9550(2.83GHz), 2 Intel 520 series SSDs Raid 0 (2x120GB), 1TB Seagate storage HDD, 8GB Kingston Hyper X, 23" LG LED, etc, running ONLY 64-bit Linux. I don't like Microsoft AND Apple, too pricey and pushy.
User avatar
tek_heretik
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:39 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 201204 Xfce LMDE is lookin'...

Postby xenopeek on Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:24 am

Yup, it is pretty sweet :mrgreen:
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14557
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 201204 Xfce LMDE is lookin'...

Postby tek_heretik on Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:30 am

The ONLY problem is, there is no dmraid built in to the live disk, been down this road too many times, there is in the main edition though, that enables me to install to the Intel Raid 0. Hmm, an Xfce main edition?
Core 2 Quad Q9550(2.83GHz), 2 Intel 520 series SSDs Raid 0 (2x120GB), 1TB Seagate storage HDD, 8GB Kingston Hyper X, 23" LG LED, etc, running ONLY 64-bit Linux. I don't like Microsoft AND Apple, too pricey and pushy.
User avatar
tek_heretik
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:39 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: 201204 Xfce LMDE is lookin'...

Postby Monsta on Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:37 pm

Sorry, but looks like LMDE installer and RAID are still not friends.
It's been discussed several times, here's one of these threads: viewtopic.php?f=90&t=85810

And yes, there's a link to a howto inside - but use it at your own risk. :)
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2339
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: 201204 Xfce LMDE is lookin'...

Postby tek_heretik on Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:38 am

@Monsta...Thanks for the link. It's all because I have become too spoiled by modern distros, lol, everything working 'out of the box'. Guess I will just have to get off (or on, lol) my lazy butt and do the command line install. I am running Netrunner 4.1 from the Raid right now, pretty nice distro BUT, yet again, based on Unbuntu (Kubuntu actually) and that means a limited life cycle. Here's an interesting fact...I gave the most recent Kanotix a live spin, Gparted (that comes with Kanotix) 'sees' the device mapper Raid but the Kanotix installer doesn't, go figure. Overclockix won't even boot, found that very strange, just bypasses the opitical drive and boots from the Raid.
Core 2 Quad Q9550(2.83GHz), 2 Intel 520 series SSDs Raid 0 (2x120GB), 1TB Seagate storage HDD, 8GB Kingston Hyper X, 23" LG LED, etc, running ONLY 64-bit Linux. I don't like Microsoft AND Apple, too pricey and pushy.
User avatar
tek_heretik
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:39 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: 201204 Xfce LMDE is lookin'...

Postby lahirdenganselamat on Thu May 03, 2012 10:24 pm

I think it will be great if we can add mintmenu on XFCE.. I mean, mint menu like on katya, the one that able to fast search, install package, etc..
I'm just installed LMDX 15 hour ago, and now I think its (kind of) as good as my gnome2.. :D. For me, XFCE was much better then gnome-now.
ASUS 1215B AMD E-350 with Linux Mint 15 KDE, Precise Puppy, and Saluki
User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta


Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests