Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby toomanyquestions on Fri May 25, 2012 1:38 am

Specs: 1gig ram, 2.6x Intel celeron (I believe).

When I open 3+ tabs in FF things slow down. Consequently I was wondering which system is most resource frugal - LMDE Xfce or LM LXDE? From what I understand, LXDE w/the same DE would be faster; however I also understand LXDE is a slightly faster DE...hence the question :D
toomanyquestions
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby FDF on Fri May 25, 2012 1:47 am

Using an add on to kill the scripts on FF would probably also be a great help.

in a terminal do the top command. it will show you what is keeping your CPU busy. it is unlikely to be Xfce or Lxde. The difference is normally not so big… So changing won't be the good solution.
FDF
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:55 pm

Re: Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby nunol on Fri May 25, 2012 5:36 am

The difference between LXDE and XFCE is only a few 10's of MB, should not be significant for a 1024MB of RAM computer. It's not the DE doing that slowdown.

You could try a lighter browser like Midori or try Chromium if you think it's a bug with FF. As FDF said disabling scrips should also help.
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby xenopeek on Fri May 25, 2012 8:56 am

Moved here by moderator

Try to reproduce the problem with Firefox running without add-ons and plugins, to exclude them being the cause. To do so, close all your current Firefox windows and then run the following command from Alt+F2 run dialog or a terminal:
Code: Select all
firefox -safe-mode
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14561
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby toomanyquestions on Fri May 25, 2012 10:08 am

FDF wrote: in a terminal do the top command. it will show you what is keeping your CPU busy.


After running "top" this AM, it seems my problem is CPU load. Worst offenders: firefox-bin, Xorg, plugin-container. Thoughts? Ditch FF? Is my CPU dying?
toomanyquestions
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:02 pm

M12 LXDE Ram & CPU Questions

Postby toomanyquestions on Sat May 26, 2012 8:00 pm

A few related questions -

1) Is the attached just-started memory readout normal for an almost stock Mint LXDE install?
2) I recently noticed that conky's ram numbers (in cb#!) were quite different from what "top" showed. What am I missing?
3)As i understand it, LXDE works with openbox. Is there any way to have an openbox session? I ask because I've been impressed with memory usage in cb#! & Madbox. I'd like to recreate that experience w/Mint if *reasonably* possible. :D
Attachments
top.png
top.png (121.09 KiB) Viewed 4413 times
toomanyquestions
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:02 pm

Re: Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby 3fRI on Sat May 26, 2012 9:23 pm

toomanyquestions wrote:A few related questions -

1) Is the attached just-started memory readout normal for an almost stock Mint LXDE install?
2) I recently noticed that conky's ram numbers (in cb#!) were quite different from what "top" showed. What am I missing?
3)As i understand it, LXDE works with openbox. Is there any way to have an openbox session? I ask because I've been impressed with memory usage in cb#! & Madbox. I'd like to recreate that experience w/Mint if *reasonably* possible. :D


If you've installed LM LXDE, then openbox is the default, which you can select at login, but you also can select Mint-LXDE. :)
System 76 Pangolin: 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3230M CPU @ 2.60GHz, CrunchBang 11 Waldorf 64-bit
iMac 21.5: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06 GHz, dual boot Mac OS 10.6.8, CrunchBang 11 Waldorf 64-bit

It's never too late to learn something new.
User avatar
3fRI
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Rhode Island

Re: Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby nunol on Sun May 27, 2012 6:06 am

toomanyquestions wrote:2) I recently noticed that conky's ram numbers (in cb#!) were quite different from what "top" showed. What am I missing?


Conky reports RAM usage like the "free" command. You can use:
Code: Select all
free -m
and check the "-/+ buffers/cache:" line under the "used" column.

You have more information on this page: http://www.linuxatemyram.com/

If you want to improve the RAM utilization of your Mint system take a look here: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=96465

Mint 12 LXDE already has Openbox installed but it's really very basic, you may want to install tint2 and other programs. Take a look here: http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/374
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Ram & CPU - LMDE Xfce vs. LXDE

Postby toomanyquestions on Sun May 27, 2012 12:55 pm

If you've installed LM LXDE, then openbox is the default, which you can select at login, but you also can select Mint-LXDE. :)


Ahh, now I know the difference between the two sessions. :D Thanks!
toomanyquestions
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests