Mint x64?

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

Mint x64?

Postby Rumburak on Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:39 pm

Does a x64 Mint version exist? Or planned?
User avatar
Rumburak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby d00p on Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:49 am

i dont know if a x64 version is planned but i can say that there is no x64 version available of LinuxMint-2.0
visit LinTelligence.de - Download LinuxMint
User avatar
d00p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Frankfurt/Germany

Postby clem on Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:25 am

I'm not sure how much work is actually involved in making a x64 version of Mint. The problem is, I don't have any x64 hardware to test it...
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5568
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby d00p on Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:42 am

like we said on IRC...Kuja and me could if you want to
visit LinTelligence.de - Download LinuxMint
User avatar
d00p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Frankfurt/Germany

Postby Rumburak on Sat Nov 18, 2006 1:32 pm

Yes, please, please, PLEASE....

edit: AMD64 architecture is needed :oops:
User avatar
Rumburak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:36 pm

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 4:39 pm

Browsing and Multimedia are a pain with Linux AMD64 right now.

You either have to get the 32-bit binary browser and mplayer or live without things like flash and the win32 codecs.

If you have an Ati newer video card, you can also forget any sort of gaming as ATI does not make amd64 drivers for their cards.

The closest to usable was kubuntu for amd64 but still not perfect. Too much fiddling around to get everything working just right.

I never di get an issue resolved that I ran into with kubuntu for amd64 which was the fonts being unreadable with firefox32. It would open up a box to save a file or whatever and all that would display were boxes instead of the proper font. Probably needs a bunch of other 32 stuff which wasn't worth doing.

IMHO, the issues with amd64 linux are everything to do with what mint has included that ubuntu doesn't so it would essentially just be another ubuntu.

Performance differences are minimal unless you encode audio and video. Games actually run a bit slower than in native 32 bit linux unless they have an amd64 port which would run a bit faster.

This is just my experience down that road. I'd love to see 64-bit linux be as usable as 32-bit since it would take full advantage of my cpu but it just isn't quite there yet.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby clem on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:07 pm

d00p, any luck on the Bea-Beta-002-x64 ISO ?
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5568
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:14 pm

I'll help with testing when you get an iso ready. I'll reserve a partition just for it. I'd really like to see it work out since my video encoding is much faster in 64-bit.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby clem on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:18 pm

http://linuxmint.com/releases/Bea- ... 03-x64.iso

I know it works... but the question is: "does it really use 64 bits, or is it just running with 32 ?". If you can test that on your x64 machine and tell me if it takes advantage of the 64bit architecture, it would be great :)

If it does, and if things look stable, we might release ISO for both x86 and x64 in the future.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5568
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:21 pm

I will download and install it in a couple of hours adn let you know what I find.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:24 pm

root wrote:http://linuxmint.com/releases/Bea-2.1/LinuxMint-2.1-BETA-003-x64.iso

I know it works... but the question is: "does it really use 64 bits, or is it just running with 32 ?". If you can test that on your x64 machine and tell me if it takes advantage of the 64bit architecture, it would be great :)

If it does, and if things look stable, we might release ISO for both x86 and x64 in the future.

Clem


It is only the 32-bit version. 686 kernel. All apps seem to be 32-bit.

You would have to start from ubuntu64 6.10, add the 32bit binary firefox32-bin, lib32, mplayer32-bin,etc. It would have to be developed on a 64-bit machine.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby clem on Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:38 pm

Ok. Thanks Fragadelic for having tested this.
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5568
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:55 pm

No problem.

AMD64 is a totally different architecture but it is backwards compatible with x86.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Rumburak on Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:50 pm

Fragadelic wrote:You either have to get the 32-bit binary browser and mplayer or live without things like flash and the win32 codecs.

Funny, I had no problems with 32codecs under Suse 10.x x64. Multimedia was working fine too. I used the packman repository for everything and it worked great.

Fragadelic wrote:...ATI does not make amd64 drivers for their cards.

Not true! They have amd64 drivers and they are working good atm (kubuntu).

Fragadelic wrote:The closest to usable was kubuntu for amd64 but still not perfect. Too much fiddling around to get everything working just right.

Then try Suse 10... thats a pain in the a**, but it worked in the end.
User avatar
Rumburak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:36 pm

Postby Fragadelic on Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:10 pm

Suse was a bigger headache than kubuntu. I was unable to get 3d drivers to work properly due to incompatibilities with the kernel and my chipset.

Having to run 32-bit apps to get stuff to be usable defeats the purpose of running a 64-bit OS.

Its coming along but nowhere near being really usable for normal desktop use. The only benefit I had from 64-bit was that encoding video was faster.

Having to use 32-bit for all the usual stuff was counterproductive.

I will help with trying to get a usable mint x64 version and if it works well enough it could become my main OS. For now, mint 2.0 is my main os.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Fragadelic on Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:43 pm

Rumburak wrote:
Fragadelic wrote:You either have to get the 32-bit binary browser and mplayer or live without things like flash and the win32 codecs.

Funny, I had no problems with 32codecs under Suse 10.x x64. Multimedia was working fine too. I used the packman repository for everything and it worked great.

Fragadelic wrote:...ATI does not make amd64 drivers for their cards.

Not true! They have amd64 drivers and they are working good atm (kubuntu).

Fragadelic wrote:The closest to usable was kubuntu for amd64 but still not perfect. Too much fiddling around to get everything working just right.

Then try Suse 10... thats a pain in the a**, but it worked in the end.


With your comments, I decided to try out Suse 10.1 Remastered to see and it works pretty well so far. Gonna check packman and see how the codecs go.

It even setup my ivtv driver. All I have to do is install the firmware.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Tiptup300 on Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:44 pm

What is the point of the 64bit processors, the only difference I ever saw was incompatiabillity and slower more buggy apps?
User avatar
Tiptup300
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:38 pm

Postby Rumburak on Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:16 am

Fragadelic wrote:With your comments, I decided to try out Suse 10.1 Remastered to see and it works pretty well so far. Gonna check packman and see how the codecs go.

Uuuuh... I just kicked Suse from my hd and installed kubuntu. Suse is a fat distro and comes with nearly everything. The point is: most stuff which is installed by default will never be used by a normal user. (It slowes everything down...) You have MUCH more possibilities to "fiddle around" :wink: I think Suse i better for advanced/professional users.
Im looking for the more lightweight and userfriendly x64-distro. ATM I dont need the win32codecs, i can play my MP3s and watch my *.AVIs (DivX and XviD) with mplayer without probs.
User avatar
Rumburak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:36 pm

Postby Fragadelic on Tue Nov 28, 2006 9:36 am

Tiptup300 wrote:What is the point of the 64bit processors, the only difference I ever saw was incompatiabillity and slower more buggy apps?


If you do any video encoding and you use an app that is 64-bit optimized, you will notice a huge difference. The 64-bit app will encode the video much quicker.

IOn general it will run much quicker but only on apps that are 64-bit optimized. Of course if you are running 32-bit apps, there is no benefit of a 64-bit distro.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Fragadelic on Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:29 pm

Rumburak wrote:
Fragadelic wrote:With your comments, I decided to try out Suse 10.1 Remastered to see and it works pretty well so far. Gonna check packman and see how the codecs go.

Uuuuh... I just kicked Suse from my hd and installed kubuntu. Suse is a fat distro and comes with nearly everything. The point is: most stuff which is installed by default will never be used by a normal user. (It slowes everything down...) You have MUCH more possibilities to "fiddle around" :wink: I think Suse i better for advanced/professional users.
Im looking for the more lightweight and userfriendly x64-distro. ATM I dont need the win32codecs, i can play my MP3s and watch my *.AVIs (DivX and XviD) with mplayer without probs.


Suse's 32-implementation works really well and is seamless to the user. I added packman repo to the sources and nvidia and downloaded the updates from packman and the driver from nvidia and everything works.

Kubuntu wasn't bad but I had a major issue with fonts in Firefox. Every time it popped up a dialog box to download something, it was unreadable since all the fonts were just blocks. I used it for a bit but gave up on it since the block font issue drove me nuts.

My 32-bit OS is mint and for now my 64-bit os is suse 10.1. Gonna try ubuntu 6.10 64 bit as well.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: karlchen and 4 guests