virtual machine

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

virtual machine

Postby civint on Fri May 18, 2007 1:15 pm

I have both XP and MInt on my PC, and I was wondering if it was possible to run my install of XP under a virtual machine, to save having to reboot every time I want to run a wndows program..ie games....and the like..

Also, how would the quality of the games be under a VM? I realise it will be a bit slower, but on older games (of a few years, like rome total war, as the fastest game I would be running..I have no money for PC games!) would it be ok?


Also, what VM would anyone suggest?
User avatar
civint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:56 am
Location: A long time ago, yet somehow in the future...

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby 900i on Fri May 18, 2007 2:27 pm

Use this VM as it is Open Source and better and faster than VMWare.

http://www.virtualbox.org/


Automatix2 will install it for you if you are new to installing software under linux, get Automatix here.

http://www.getautomatix.com/wiki/index. ... stallation
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby scorp123 on Fri May 18, 2007 3:12 pm

With VMware though it is possible to boot your real Windows partition under VMware ... you need to make some preparations first, but the instructions can be found on the VMware forums. This is complicated though! But it can be done ...

If you don't mind having a second installation of Windows (e.g. inside the virtual machine) then go for VirtualBox.

BTW, really old games also work great under DOSemu / DOSbox ... I use this stuff to play my old pre-Windows95 games, e.g. Syndicate Wars, Sim City (the old classic!), Populous, Gods, Novastorm ... and many others :wink:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby civint on Fri May 18, 2007 3:30 pm

with virtualbox, will I be able to run my existing "real" version of xp from how it is installed anyway? or do I have to reinstall it from scratch (not really a big deal, just a hassle)?

*edit* I am running 512 mb of RAM, so my guess is that I won't be able to run very recent games til I upgrade that....*end edit*
User avatar
civint
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:56 am
Location: A long time ago, yet somehow in the future...

Postby 900i on Fri May 18, 2007 4:11 pm

With Virtualbox you will have to install XP again as a VM
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby stafio on Fri May 18, 2007 5:22 pm

Just a warning before you get into this... I'm not sure that Virtual box supports directd3d calls, making it impossible to run a number of games. On my machine, running dxdiag.exe from XP runing in Virtualbox indicates that Direct3D is disabled.
User avatar
stafio
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:44 am

Postby scorp123 on Sat May 19, 2007 6:08 am

True. DirectX and Direct3D require direct access to the hardware, and this is usually not possible with virtualisation software. Maybe the newest release of VMware (VMware Workstation 6 -- $$$) can do this, but then again that software isn't available for free.

So if you want to play games with decent framerates you probably will have to try out Cedega, which is WINE-like (and based on WINE) but supports some Direct3D games (not all though ... you'd have to check Cedega's compatibility lists).
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby whare1 on Sat May 19, 2007 5:59 pm

civint wrote:*edit* I am running 512 mb of RAM, so my guess is that I won't be able to run very recent games til I upgrade that....*end edit*


Dont bother I tried with 512 using VirtualBox and the whole system was painfully slow if you want to run a VM I would strongly suggest an upgrade of RAM to at least 1GB so you have enough to split between both operating Systems

Hope you get it running right however you do it :)
I've Been
Minted

Running Mint 9 KDE
Running Mint 9 Gnome
User avatar
whare1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 6:29 am

Postby scorp123 on Sat May 19, 2007 7:06 pm

civint wrote:will I be able to run my existing "real" version of xp from how it is installed anyway?
Why not keep that partition for playing games? I guess you could uninstall all the stuff you don't need anymore and then shrink the Windows partition to a smaller size, just enough you can install and run the games you want? You could then install Linux on a separate partition and "dual boot" between the two.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Husse on Sun May 20, 2007 4:56 pm

Totally agree with scorp - but civint posted because
to save having to reboot every time I want to run a wndows program..ie games....and the like..
Easy to forget the beginning of a thread :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby scorp123 on Sun May 20, 2007 9:39 pm

Husse wrote:Totally agree with scorp - but civint posted because
to save having to reboot every time I want to run a wndows program..ie games....and the like..
Easy to forget the beginning of a thread :)
Yes, but then he'd need a more powerful machine with plenty of RAM (1 GB minimum) so it can handle Linux + emulation of Windows API's + the games. And maybe a Cedega subscription wouldn't be bad. If all this is not possible then a dual-boot is the best option ...
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby stafio on Mon May 21, 2007 2:46 pm

You may also want to give Crossover a try as they've really started to increase their support for 3D, etc. I think they're starting to show the change in focus as they seem to be slowly dropping the Office part of their name from their product.

The good thing is that you can download a free demo and give it a try to see if it will work for you, unlike Cedega.
User avatar
stafio
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:44 am

Postby stafio on Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:08 pm

VirtualBox is now working on support for 3D acceleration: http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/475
User avatar
stafio
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests