Folding@Home

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

Postby 900i on Sun Oct 07, 2007 5:15 am

That depends what you used/did to install it. Let me know how you installed it.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:03 am

i Installed the same way as on your video with terminal commands
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby 900i on Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:37 am

Then just deleting the folder is all that you need to do.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:40 am

oK- thank you. I wish I could get my head around this to run it and control it the way I want and need it ti run; but I am too new to linux and command line.
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby MrDeadLock on Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:35 pm

I joined! FInnaly got the F@H all setup. I'll probaly end up having it running on two PC's shortly maybe 3. :-)
MrDeadLock
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:52 pm

Postby D-EJ915 on Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:48 pm

MrDeadLock wrote:I joined! FInnaly got the F@H all setup. I'll probaly end up having it running on two PC's shortly maybe 3. :-)
Nice! thanks for your contribution =3
Image
User avatar
D-EJ915
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby 900i on Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:29 pm

Welcome Zyrix, you are now on the scoreboard. :D
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:37 pm

seriously, any clues on how newbies can be part of this with knowing how to control or see what the heck is going on and not command line only starting it and hoping or else having it run all the time. Is there any easier way for me to tweak when I want it to run etc. and even see that it is running or use the screensaver turn it on mode and when I start using the mouse or laptop it will turn itself off kind of thing?

I am willing to cocntribute cpu usage to mint FAH but have no clue what the heck is really going on by just this command line type in and assume it is doing it's thing or that when I need CPU usage for work FAH is not being used.

seriously question - why the heck do you think i tired this so many times to get working.

thank you 900i


SAAB????? = 900i

just curious to both questions
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby Zyrix on Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:53 pm

900i wrote:Welcome Zyrix, you are now on the scoreboard. :D


Thanks :D

GrayWizardLinux:

The Linux FAH client is extremely minimal. After downloading the exe and allowing execution on the file (as show in 900i's video) you simply need to run it from a shell prompt (./FAH504-Linux.exe)

This will start the program and do the initial setup (where you enter your username and team number). After that it will fetch work from the Folding server and begin to process it.

Once you see something like this you will know that it's working:
Code: Select all
[01:05:20] Completed 0 out of 100000 steps  (0%)


Note: It can take a LONG time (24+ hours) to complete 1 WU, and will probably take 100% CPU while doing it. So I suggest running it when you aren't going to be using your computer.
Zyrix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Clearwater, FL

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:00 pm

Zyrix, thanks. But that is exactly what i was talking about. The original seti at home that i used before on windows and macs had a screen saver and also a setting that you can say to auto turn on when not in use and turn of when the mouse moved again etc... I guess with my crazy work schedule it is nice to have that option and not just me trun it on and off with a command line thing.

Ok - if I turn it on manually - how do you turn it off.

or maybe I am just too tired and missed it in your post.

Sorry - a very long day.

GW
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby Zyrix on Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:01 pm

CTRL+C will stop it from running

Edit:
To follow up... This is from the Folding@Home Wiki (http://fahwiki.net/index.php/Running_the_FAH_client_on_Linux):

Q: Why to run FAH as a service?
A: Service by definition will run on background and will be started when You boot up Your machine and will be "killed" when You turn off the box. It is the most effective way to increase the productivity of the FAH client and all the rest what will come out of it.

I) After previous steps (download and manual run) add couple lines of code to the end of rc.local (/etc/rc.d/rc.local) file:

cd /folding
./FAH502-Linux.exe >/dev/null &


Note: This script will run FAH under root privileges as rc.local file will be run under root privileges (all created files/folders will be under root privileges, too). To overcome this and to run FAH as regular user (RegularUser must be set to one of user who is present on this system):

su - RegularUser -c "cd /folding; ./FAH502-Linux.exe >/dev/null &"

If You ran first-time-run as root or as some other user than RegularUser then You must change FAH folder privileges:

su -
chown -R RegularUser.RegularUserGroup /folding


Only bad thing is that there is no easy (as easy as pressing [CRTL+C]) way to stop this client anymore.
As FAH will start up several processes then there is nothing else to do than hunt down and kill these processes. To make our life a little easier FAH client will die if the running cores die (should be a rule but not always...):

cd /folding
kill -15 $(ps -C $(ls *Core_*.exe) -o pid=)

Note: This is a "polite" termination (waiting FAH client and cores to finish their job) and if ps -ax should still show some cores running (newer cores may have this bug) then use a forced termination (no more waiting...):

cd /folding
kill -9 $(ps -C $(ls *Core_*.exe) -o pid=)

Attention! As FAH and Core different versions tend to respond differently to "killing" of these then it may be advisable to issue the same kind of "kill routines" to FAH client itself, too:

killall -15 FAH502-Linux.exe

and if it is still not dead (check it with "/sbin/pidof FAH502-Linux.exe") then:

killall -9 FAH502-Linux.exe
Zyrix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Clearwater, FL

Postby 900i on Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:56 am

Saab-Correct

This is how I fold:-

Work rig is a core 2 duo, I am a Mechanical Design Engineer and run 3d Cad. F@H is running nearly all the time on both cores through the week regardless of what apps I am using. The only time I shut one core down is when I need to detail a drawing, then it gets a bit laggy if I don't. But I would say that 80% of the time I am folding on both cores with no ill effects. I run XP at work all week and use the windows command line client which I start manually on a Monday morning and shut down on a Friday afternoon for the W/E. I don't fold at home as I only have a laptop - they get bloody hot folding in my experience! :)
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:13 am

Ok thank you both very much. I am on a Pent M Thinkpad.Hmmm...
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Postby 900i on Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:45 am

Welcome Abbathdoom, you are now on the scoreboard :D
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby 900i on Sun Oct 21, 2007 5:36 am

Well team, welcome to the sub 5000 club, well done and keep it up. I myself am taking a week off from folding and going on my jollies down to Devon. This will give you all a chance to close up on my score, not that it's a race. :D. Will be back folding on the 29th.
Last edited by 900i on Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby 900i on Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:29 am

Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby 900i on Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:29 pm

Welcome to the team slep1987.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby slep1987 on Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:57 am

Thanks :D. found the forum topic while nosing round wating to upgrade to daryana and thought every little helps lol. had a spare computer doing nothing but sharing my internet so i thought id do something more usefull with it.
slep1987
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:53 am

Postby 900i on Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:31 am

We need all the help we can get, as we are only a small team :)
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby 900i on Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:58 am

Welcome jizzle to the team, :D
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests