Forum

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

Forum

Postby antiquexray on Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:23 pm

I'm trying to attach an avatar to my profile (it's a jpg). Every time I try I get a message saying it needs to be a jpg (it is), a gif (tried that too), or some over format I don't remember. I'm attempting to do so by uploading from my computer. Any suggestions?
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby d00p on Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:50 pm

did you check the filesize?
visit LinTelligence.de - Download LinuxMint
User avatar
d00p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Frankfurt/Germany

Postby antiquexray on Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:31 pm

d00p wrote:did you check the filesize?


Actually I did. It is 1.4Kb, 34 pixels wide, and 80 pixels high.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Postby d00p on Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:53 pm

are you sure that it is a REAL jpg...not just a PNG renamed to JPG?
visit LinTelligence.de - Download LinuxMint
User avatar
d00p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Frankfurt/Germany

Postby antiquexray on Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:05 pm

d00p wrote:are you sure that it is a REAL jpg...not just a PNG renamed to JPG?


I found a pic on the new and saved it myself, both using Paint and then tried Gimp.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Postby clem on Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:18 pm

I had a quick look at google, it looks like this is a bug in phpbb. I'll try to have it fixed by tomorrow.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby d00p on Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:21 pm

i just used an external url ^^
visit LinTelligence.de - Download LinuxMint
User avatar
d00p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Frankfurt/Germany

Postby antiquexray on Thu Nov 23, 2006 11:11 am

root wrote:I had a quick look at google, it looks like this is a bug in phpbb. I'll try to have it fixed by tomorrow.

Clem


I'm still having trouble posting an avatar. Any suggestions, help, etc?
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Postby bin on Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:49 pm

Whilst slightly off topic, this reminded me that it is possible to browse the membership list and pick off email addresses without having registered.

Could I suggest that is not allowed to non registered members, and also that the default setting is changed to not display email addys??

in light

bin
bin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:12 pm

Postby clem on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:05 pm

Hi bin,

I'm not exactly sure how to do that :) Same for the avatar question... is there a phpbb expert in here ?? :)

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:19 pm

The distro I used to develop for used phpbb for their forum. Although I can't remember offhand, I could figure it out if you want.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby clem on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:20 pm

Yep, I would definitely be interested by the answer.

PS: Which distro did you develop for ? In which languages, and what kind of scripts/programs ?

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:32 pm

Vector Linux.

The SOHO 3.2 version was my first. At the time there were only 2 of us. Robert, the lead guy and myself. He worked on the base small VL and I did the SOHO which included KDE, OpenOffice,etc. You may see reference to either Tigger or Spider on their forum,etc. That is me. I ported the knoppix hwsetup stuff for VL. I removed all the module loading from the app and made it spit out a nice file with info and kernel module names that we later used with another script to load everything. Up until the last release they were still using it. I also reworked a lot of the install/setup scripts. I don't have the time I used to these days so I opted to leave. Most of the hardware stuff these days is just handled by udev so the old app and scripts are sure to be history very soon.

I also created a CLI frontend for pacman for Arch called pacmenu. Another guy at arch took it over and continued it on. Not sure of the status of it at the moment though.

I'm decent with BASH/xdialog/kdialog/zenity and a bit of C and tcl/tk. I much prefer bash with zenity though and this is what all my video capture and encoding stuff is now.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:48 pm

I believe its in the general board settings and it is called something like user email from forum or something like that. With it turned off, you see the email addy's when you mouse over them. With it on, you no longer see it and the forum will bring up an intermediate email window for users to email each other.

Not sure about the avatar issue since its been so long since I administered a phpbb forum.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby clem on Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:05 pm

Ok... so I'm going to need an smtp server... :)

I played a lot with kdialog, essentially to create the installer for Ada, but I was missing the ability to define complex windows and panels... I don't know much about Tcl/Tk either :) I am good with perl and the shell but in terms of GUI development, appart from Swing and HTML, I don't much about the rest...

If tools need to be developed for Linux Mint, I should be able to make them without much problems, but I could definitely use some help on the graphical GUI side of things :)

:roll:
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Fragadelic on Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:28 pm

I'll help if I can.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby bin on Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:03 am

Fragadelic wrote:Vector Linux.

The SOHO 3.2 version was my first. At the time there were only 2 of us. Robert, the lead guy and myself. He worked on the base small VL and I did the SOHO which included KDE, OpenOffice,etc. You may see reference to either Tigger or Spider on their forum,etc. That is me.


.........and an absolute classic it was too - I used it with Wine to run Lotus Notes up till May this year with no problems at all - thought I recognised the name.... :)

in light

bin
bin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:12 pm

Postby Fragadelic on Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:07 am

Thanks. Glad it worked so well for you for so long.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby clem on Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:16 am

OK, the privacy/email issue is solved :)
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5546
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby Fragadelic on Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:33 am

Good stuff Clem.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Chat about Linux Mint

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests