New to Mint

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

New to Mint

Postby Guest on Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:29 pm

Hello everyone,

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Mike and I am from Texas. I have just installed Linux Mint ( 4.0 ) for the first time and really like this distribution so far. A little background about me - I have been a developer for 26 years now, the last 12 years being on an IBM mainframe. I started fooling with Linux around 1997 or 98 with Mandrake 7 I believe it was. Finally, two years ago I blew windows away for good on my home machine. I have been running Debian up until today. For the sake of not bashing people, I will just say that their community needs some work, including the developers on downward. So for several weeks now I have been looking over other distributions and Mint seems to have very good reviews by most folks. So here I am.

Anyway, I hope this is the appropriate forum in which to make an introduction.

I look forward to meeting new folks and hopefully making some friends and contributions.

Mike

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: New to Mint

Postby Texas_Mike on Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:31 pm

Guest wrote:Hello everyone,

I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Mike and I am from Texas. I have just installed Linux Mint ( 4.0 ) for the first time and really like this distribution so far. A little background about me - I have been a developer for 26 years now, the last 12 years being on an IBM mainframe. I started fooling with Linux around 1997 or 98 with Mandrake 7 I believe it was. Finally, two years ago I blew windows away for good on my home machine. I have been running Debian up until today. For the sake of not bashing people, I will just say that their community needs some work, including the developers on downward. So for several weeks now I have been looking over other distributions and Mint seems to have very good reviews by most folks. So here I am.