Fedora 17?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MattyC157

Fedora 17?

Post by MattyC157 »

Hello.
I am new to Linux and Linux Mint 12/13 is really the only Linux Distro that i have sniffed around at.
With the new release of Fedora 17 "Beefy Miracle" (loving the name) i was wandering if it would be worth having a look at. Fedora 17 has been getting good reviews and is suppose to put together very well.
I have been having some stablity issues on Mint and i have tried a lot to fix them. I.e Updating Kernel which only seemed to crash my system. This has put me off Linux Mint slightly and i was wandering how Fedora 17 compared to Linux Mint and i would like some opinions from people who have used it and could give me some advice.
Thanks.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
cudayne

Re: Fedora 17?

Post by cudayne »

glad too see new person. The only thing with Fedora you will have too install codec for video,flash,mp3. Java if you need it. Now this isn't a bad thing gives you some experience in doing it an there is good documentation on how to do it just be ready too do it. Run teh live cd first too make sure everything works.
bimsebasse

Post by bimsebasse »

Try it out, download a live iso, burn it onto a USB stick and give it a whirl without installing it on your hard drive