The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Chat about Linux in general

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby arjay on Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:59 am

Schoelje wrote:
arjay wrote:I am putting together another PC from some old bits and pieces that will allow me to test the 486 kernel.


That would be great!
Please, when you're ready, start the live installer in terminal:
Code: Select all
kdesudo live-installer

You can see the output in the terminal.
It should remove the pae kernel after installation, so when you reboot, you only have the 486 kernel mentioned in grub.
As I said, I never tested it, so it's important that you copy the terminal output in a text file and post that here (or send me an email).

I'm really very curious how it goes.


Sorry - this has got me a bit confused. I thought that if the PC had a single core only, then the DVD would install only the 486 kernel? The PC I have put together has a 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE M/B etc that is about 6 years old. The single CPU is only an Intel(R) Pentium(R) M(obile) processor 1.73GHz. The right stuff for the 486 kernel I would have thought? However, the install process installed both kernels and is currently running pae:
Code: Select all
richard@htpc ~ $ uname -a
Linux htpc 3.2.0-3-686-pae #1 SMP Thu Jun 28 08:56:46 UTC 2012 i686 GNU/Linux
richard@htpc ~ $

I'll tell you how the install went and then reboot with the 486 option and see what happens. I'll remove the pae kernel using your code and report back.

Install:
I installed to a freshly formatted 250GB drive and used the provided KParted to create partitions etc. All fine. I noted that the Personal Details page showed clearly-readable text under the "Your Full Name" box unlike the other PC I tried it on (see previous post).

This htpc machine only has an on-board graphics chip but it correctly detected my Sony Bravo 42" TV and set the correct resolution (1920x1080) - amazing! It also correctly detected the on-board Ethernet chip and established a connection, and a Texas Instruments 54 mps ACX 111 wireless card which I have not yet tried for a connection.

Unfortunately, the Logitech K400 wireless USB keyboard with integrated mouse (Spanish layout) didn't seem to be working properly. The Login screen would not accept the password. Thought it might be that it was using the wrong layout (I have numbers and ? marks in my PW). However, I replaced the wireless K/B with a serial one (again Spanish) and all is fine. I'll investigate further and report.

During the install I saw "Entering your system - checking your kernel" flash along the bottom of the window" and later saw "installing the ****pae kernel". All went fine. On rebooting, Grub offered the pae, pae (recovery), 486, 486 (recovery) and Win XP on a second disk. I left it to boot the default - pae. The welcome screen shows the pae installed but not 486? Obviously it doesn't detect the Intel on-board graphics. I found that all windows were displayed without title bars or buttons so I could not drag the windows or minimise, maximise or close. A quick Google shows that this is usually a problem with the O/S not making nice with the graphics card. I disabled all desktop effects in KDE (4.8.4) and rebooted. All works OK now.

I see that update now offers mint-translations, and mintsystem as well as xinit. I installed all of them and it went fine.

I'll play about with the 486 kernel and post again
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby arjay on Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:09 am

Schoelje

Further to the above - I rebooted and chose the 486 option. However, DDM still shows "Multicore support for 32-bit systems". But it is the 486 kernel that is running:
Code: Select all
richard@htpc ~ $ uname -a
Linux htpc 3.2.0-3-486 #1 Thu Jun 28 08:08:24 UTC 2012 i686 GNU/Linux
richard@htpc ~ $


Presumably - when you want me to run live-installer in a terminal - that is when I am booted into the Live DVD before an install??
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby arjay on Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:11 am

Please, when you're ready, start the live installer in terminal:
kdesudo live-installer


OK - gave this a go:
1. Booted up the live DVD
2. Opened terminal and ran "kdesudo live-installer" as per your request. A *.doc file of terminal text is attached
3. Went through the install creating fresh partitions etc. All seemed to install OK.
4. Rebooted when told to but:
a) Grub still shows pae kernel and the default boot is with this kernel
b) DDM still shows pae intalled
c) pae is installed and running:

Code: Select all
richard@htpc ~ $ uname -a
Linux htpc 3.2.0-3-686-pae #1 SMP Thu Jun 28 08:56:46 UTC 2012 i686 GNU/Linux
richard@htpc ~ $


What next?

RJ
Attachments
live-installer.doc
(62 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby Schoelje on Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:50 am

@arjay
Could you run this on your "486" system:
Code: Select all
uname -m

It should either return "i486" or "i686". I suspect it will be the latter and that means you're CPU supports PAE.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby arjay on Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:56 am

Schoelje wrote:@arjay
Could you run this on your "486" system:
Code: Select all
uname -m

It should either return "i486" or "i686". I suspect it will be the latter and that means you're CPU supports PAE.



You are correct - it shows i686. That means, sorry - I don't have anything old enough to test the script. But as I read it in you previous post - the script is designed to remove the pae kernel. Presumably you meant it would remove it only if the system was not capable of taking advantage of pae?
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby Schoelje on Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:06 am

arjay wrote:But as I read it in you previous post - the script is designed to remove the pae kernel. Presumably you meant it would remove it only if the system was not capable of taking advantage of pae?


Exactly, if "uname -m" returns "i486", the PAE kernel is removed (in theory).
I'm still not convinced that a 486 kernel on LMDE KDE is necessary. It all sound like a contradiction: run KDE on a very old machine. Even the 486 iso I made a while ago was downloaded zero times...
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby arjay on Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:18 am

Schoelje wrote:I'm still not convinced that a 486 kernel on LMDE KDE is necessary. It all sound like a contradiction: run KDE on a very old machine. Even the 486 iso I made a while ago was downloaded zero times...

From what I have experienced with this 6 year old PC you are probably right. It has a pretty good 1.7 Ghz Mobile chip yet KDE is noticeably slow. I have to turn off desktop search and desktop effects etc just to get it to display correctly and run half-decently.

If someone wants to run linux on a really old machine, they would be much better off using a light desktop - there are enough available!!
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby Schoelje on Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:46 pm

I've been testing DDM on the regular Linux Mint.
Some changes were made for Nvidia and Broadcom.

So...I'm in dire need of testers, especially with ATI and Broadcom.

If you have a regular LM running somewhere, please download and install:
http://www.schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/device-driver-manager_0.2.2_all.deb

Open a terminal and run:
Code: Select all
device-driver-manager -d

And post back the log file:
Code: Select all
$HOME/ddm.log
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby GeneC on Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:58 pm

Not good news here... :(

Mint 13 Maya XFCE 64bit
(Nvidia driver, no ATI or Broadcom, sorry).

DDM started to open, asked for password. I entered it, and it just closed....

ddm.log
Code: Select all
19-10-2012 13:56:45 main                          INFO      Write debug information to file: /home/gene/ddm.log
19-10-2012 13:56:45 main                          DEBUG     Startup command: gksu --message "<b>Please enter your password</b>" python /usr/lib/device-driver-manager/ddm.py :d :l /home/gene/ddm.log
19-10-2012 13:56:52 ddm.main                      INFO      Checking your hardware...
19-10-2012 13:56:52 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: cat /etc/*-release | grep ^ID
19-10-2012 13:56:52 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: cat /etc/*-release | grep DISTRIB_CODENAME
19-10-2012 13:56:52 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: lspci | grep VGA
19-10-2012 13:56:52 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: apt search nvidia-detect | grep ^i



Code: Select all
gene@zordon ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host: zordon Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Xfce 4.10.0 Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M4A88TD-M/USB3 version: Rev X.0x Bios: American Megatrends version: 1401 date: 01/06/2012
CPU:       Quad core AMD Phenom II X4 955 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 800.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF104 [GeForce GTX 460] X.Org: 1.11.3 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1680x1050@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 460/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.2.0 NVIDIA 304.60
Audio:     Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2: Creative Labs CA0106 Soundblaster driver: snd_ca0106
           Card-3: NVIDIA GF104 High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 48:5b:39:ee:b9:e7
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 322.0GB (1.9% used) 1: /dev/sda ST3320613AS 320.1GB
           2: USB /dev/sde CardReader_SD 2.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 21G used: 5.7G (30%) fs: ext4
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 35.0C mobo: 41.0C gpu: 47C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 958 sys-1: 1057
Info:      Processes: 179 Uptime: 7 min Memory: 795.3/5970.4MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33


=========================

EDIT:

Reboot and 2nd attempt
(Same thing, it just closed)

Code: Select all
19-10-2012 14:15:23 main                          INFO      Write debug information to file: /home/gene/ddm.log
19-10-2012 14:15:23 main                          DEBUG     Startup command: gksu --message "<b>Please enter your password</b>" python /usr/lib/device-driver-manager/ddm.py :d :l /home/gene/ddm.log
19-10-2012 14:15:23 ddm.main                      INFO      Checking your hardware...
19-10-2012 14:15:23 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: cat /etc/*-release | grep ^ID
19-10-2012 14:15:23 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: cat /etc/*-release | grep DISTRIB_CODENAME
19-10-2012 14:15:23 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: lspci | grep VGA
19-10-2012 14:15:23 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: apt search nvidia-detect | grep ^i


PS.

I had Nvidia 304.60 installed from PPA
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby GeneC on Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:28 pm

Schoelje wrote:I've been testing DDM on the regular Linux Mint.
Some changes were made for Nvidia and Broadcom.

So...I'm in dire need of testers, especially with ATI and Broadcom.

If you have a regular LM running somewhere, please download and install:
http://www.schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/device-driver-manager_0.2.2_all.deb

Open a terminal and run:
Code: Select all
device-driver-manager -d

And post back the log file:
Code: Select all
$HOME/ddm.log


Schoelje

Suggest you start a new topic for this test.
Most likely only KDE users will see it here. :?:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby Schoelje on Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:44 pm

@GeneC
Thanks for testing this.
I just tried the same on LM XFCE 64 with Nvidia 8900 GT and everything went smooth...so something else is happening here...
I checked the last line in your log and looked at the code to see what should have happened after that.
Nothing special really until I noticed the format of your card: NVIDIA GF104 [GeForce GTX 460]
There I saw that my regular expression to extract the number (460) was badly done...so I changed that.

Could you please try again?
http://www.schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/device-driver-manager_0.2.2_all.deb

I'd expect DDM to list your card as uninstallable, because Nvidia is supported from the 2000 series and up.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby Schoelje on Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:45 pm

GeneC wrote:Suggest you start a new topic for this test.
Most likely only KDE users will see it here. :?:


Thanks, done that: viewtopic.php?p=639593#p639593
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby GeneC on Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:52 pm

Schoelje wrote:@GeneC
Thanks for testing this.
I just tried the same on LM XFCE 64 with Nvidia 8900 GT and everything went smooth...so something else is happening here...
I checked the last line in your log and looked at the code to see what should have happened after that.
Nothing special really until I noticed the format of your card: NVIDIA GF104 [GeForce GTX 460]
There I saw that my regular expression to extract the number (460) was badly done...so I changed that.

Could you please try again?
http://www.schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/device-driver-manager_0.2.2_all.deb

I'd expect DDM to list your card as uninstallable, because Nvidia is supported from the 2000 series and up.


Sure thing....

Yes, it worked this time.. :)

Code: Select all
19-10-2012 16:51:51 main                          INFO      Write debug information to file: /home/gene/ddm.log
19-10-2012 16:51:51 main                          DEBUG     Startup command: gksu --message "<b>Please enter your password</b>" python /usr/lib/device-driver-manager/ddm.py :d :l /home/gene/ddm.log
19-10-2012 16:51:56 ddm.main                      INFO      Checking your hardware...
19-10-2012 16:51:56 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: cat /etc/*-release | grep ^ID
19-10-2012 16:51:56 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: cat /etc/*-release | grep DISTRIB_CODENAME
19-10-2012 16:51:56 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: lspci | grep VGA
19-10-2012 16:51:56 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: apt search nvidia-detect | grep ^i
19-10-2012 16:51:57 nvidia.getNvidia              INFO      Nvidia driver to install: nvidia-current
19-10-2012 16:51:57 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: apt-cache policy nvidia-current
19-10-2012 16:51:57 drivers.getPackageStatus      DEBUG     Package is installed: nvidia-current
19-10-2012 16:51:57 nvidia.getNvidia              DEBUG     Package status: installed
19-10-2012 16:51:57 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: lspci | grep Broadcom
19-10-2012 16:51:57 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: uname -r
19-10-2012 16:51:57 execcmd.run                   INFO      3.2.0-23-generic
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Search for extensions: ['.png', '.jpg', '.jpeg', '.gif']
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/broadcom.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/uninstallable.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/nvidia.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/empty.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/mirror.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/logo.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/installed.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/pae.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/ati.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.getImgsFromDir      DEBUG     Image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/notinstalled.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 ddm.fillHardware              INFO      Hardware image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/nvidia.png
19-10-2012 16:51:57 ddm.fillHardware              INFO      Add item: NVIDIA Corporation GF104 [GeForce GTX 460] (rev a1)
19-10-2012 16:51:57 ddm.fillHardware              DEBUG     Preselect: False
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Create list store eval string: gtk.ListStore(bool, gtk.gdk.Pixbuf, gtk.gdk.Pixbuf, str, str, str, int)
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Create column names: ['Column 0', 'Column 1', 'Column 2', 'Column 3', 'Column 4', 'Column 5']
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Add data to list store (single-column list): liststore.append( [False, gtk.gdk.pixbuf_new_from_file("/usr/share/device-driver-manager/installed.png"), gtk.gdk.pixbuf_new_from_file("/usr/share/device-driver-manager/nvidia.png"), "NVIDIA Corporation GF104 [GeForce GTX 460] (rev a1)", "nvidia", "installed", 400] )
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Last visible column nr: 4
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Create column: gtk.TreeViewColumn("Column 0", gtk.CellRendererToggle(), active=0)
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Check box found: add toggle function
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Column added: Column 0
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Create column: gtk.TreeViewColumn("Column 1", gtk.CellRendererPixbuf(), pixbuf=1)
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Column added: Column 1
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Create column: gtk.TreeViewColumn("Column 2", gtk.CellRendererPixbuf(), pixbuf=2)
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Column added: Column 2
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Create column: gtk.TreeViewColumn("Column 3", gtk.CellRendererText(), text=3, weight=6)
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Column added: Column 3
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Hide column nr: 4
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Hide column nr: 5
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Add Liststrore to Treeview
19-10-2012 16:51:57 functions.fillTreeview        DEBUG     Scrolled to selected row: 0
19-10-2012 16:51:57 execcmd.run                   DEBUG     Command to execute: apt policy device-driver-manager | grep Installed


Image

Nice work.... :wink:
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby Schoelje on Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:19 pm

@GeneC,

I'm glad it worked...although I expected something else.
I should have looked closer to my own code :oops:

Thanks again!
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby DaComboMan on Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:42 am

I'm downloading the .32bit iso in the hopes that sound will work for my Logitech Headset.
Didn't work for Debian but who knows, it might work with your KDE?

NVidia GForce GT 130M - is that "old" enough by your standards?

Update 1: BTW, the burned .ISO seems to be just fine.
Only one problem, i'm not getting any sound from Youtube or CTV.ca videos.

Update 2: Results of installed version (still no sound):
NFO Write debug information to file: /home/danielson/ddm.log
INFO Checking your hardware...
INFO Get the appropriate Nvidia driver
INFO nvidia-glx
INFO Nvidia driver to install: nvidia-glx
INFO 3.2.0-3-686-pae
INFO Multi-core already installed: 3.2.0-3-686-pae
INFO Hardware image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/pae.png
INFO Add item: Multi-core support for 32-bit systems
INFO Hardware image found: /usr/share/device-driver-manager/nvidia.png
INFO Add item: NVIDIA Corporation G96 [GeForce GT 130M] (rev a1)

p.s. couldn't find the right format to load in attachment...
DaComboMan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: AR

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby Schoelje on Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:30 am

DaComboMan wrote:Update 1: BTW, the burned .ISO seems to be just fine.
Only one problem, i'm not getting any sound from Youtube or CTV.ca videos.


Do you have sound when playing sound files in VLC?
If you have no sound at all, you can try and remove pulseaudio:
Code: Select all
apt-get remove pulseaudio*


DaComboMan wrote:p.s. couldn't find the right format to load in attachment...


You can add ddm.log as an attachment by renaming it to ddm.doc (don't ask me why...)
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby DaComboMan on Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:43 am

Schoelje wrote:
DaComboMan wrote:Update 1: BTW, the burned .ISO seems to be just fine.
Only one problem, i'm not getting any sound from Youtube or CTV.ca videos.


Do you have sound when playing sound files in VLC?
If you have no sound at all, you can try and remove pulseaudio:
Code: Select all
apt-get remove pulseaudio*


DaComboMan wrote:p.s. couldn't find the right format to load in attachment...


You can add ddm.log as an attachment by renaming it to ddm.doc (don't ask me why...)


Thanks for dropping in Schoelje!

Tried entry and this is what i get:
E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?

And no, i can't seem to get sound from VLC either.
No systems either, nothing.
DaComboMan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:10 pm
Location: AR

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby arjay on Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:57 pm

"Tried entry and this is what i get:
E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?


Presumably you were not root. You need to add sudo in front of the command:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove pulseaudio*

And enter your password when asked for it...

By the way if you ever want to just see what an apt-get command is going to do without it actually doing it put -s in the command like this:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove -s pulseaudio*
Try it in this case to remove pulseaudio and you might be surprised by how much is going to be removed!

Also JFYI when I had this problem, removing pulseaudio didn't help me, but after removing it I reinstalled and mysteriously sound came back. YMMV
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby BostonPeng on Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:04 pm

arjay wrote:By the way if you ever want to just see what an apt-get command is going to do without it actually doing it put -s in the command like this:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove -s pulseaudio*
Try it in this case to remove pulseaudio and you might be surprised by how much is going to be removed!

Killer tip! I'm going to have to put this on the sticky note on my desktop so I can remember to use it from time to time.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP5 [UPDATE: 16/10/2012]

Postby arjay on Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:12 pm

BostonPeng wrote:Killer tip! I'm going to have to put this on the sticky note on my desktop so I can remember to use it from time to time.

Sure - it pays sometimes - works with apt-get install as well as remove.. A while back I thought "I'll try this little program" and typed in sudo apt-get install -s *whatever it was* not realising it was a gnome program. The "-s" showed it was intending to install about 60 files!! Ooooops
arjay
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Chat about Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests