The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Chat about Linux in general

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby BostonPeng on Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:29 am

BostonPeng wrote:This almost makes me wish I hadn't upgraded to UP6 already, but I discovered a great plus about UP6 last night: I can finally mount my external hard drive again!

I think I spoke too soon. I tried to mount my external hard drive yesterday and I'm back to the "unable to enumerate" error. I'll try to chase it down today and see if I can get it working again. If I can, and can figure out what I did right, I'll definitely write an article for my site about how I did it.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby TeaSwigger on Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:34 am

Schoelje wrote:
TeaSwigger wrote:This also uninstalled:
mint-artwork-lmdekde* mint-configuration-lmdekde* mint-md5sum-kde* mintsystem*

They were not reinstalled. :?


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install mintsystem
wget -c http://schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/mint-artwork-lmdekde_1.0.0_all.deb
wget -c http://schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/mint-configuration-lmdekde_1.1.0_all.deb
wget -c http://schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/mint-md5sum-kde_2.0_all.deb
sudo dpkg -i *.deb


Thanks. Wouldn't have proceeded with the uninstall before reporting what it wanted to uninstall, but an accidental key press... :oops: I will check now if everything looks right.
"You can't get to wonderful without passing through alright" -Bill Withers

SolydK KDE - AMD Quad Core - 4GB RAM - accursed nvidia GeForce5800 graphics - lovely ASUS Xonar ST sound
User avatar
TeaSwigger
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:42 am
Location: San Luis Obispo CA

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby TeaSwigger on Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:40 am

All seems well. It now reports LMDE KDE Edition like it should. :)
"You can't get to wonderful without passing through alright" -Bill Withers

SolydK KDE - AMD Quad Core - 4GB RAM - accursed nvidia GeForce5800 graphics - lovely ASUS Xonar ST sound
User avatar
TeaSwigger
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:42 am
Location: San Luis Obispo CA

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby The Dark Side on Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:59 am

My most sincere congratulations Schoelje. Every time Linux Mint Debian Edition KDE (LMDE KDE) is getting better and works spectacularly well ..... It shows your effort on this issue, it really has been a wonderful ...... Congratulations !!!!

I still do not understand how the Linux Mint Team does not make it official, it's really perfect. Great job, continuing this same road. Best regards .... Jose Manuel.-
User avatar
The Dark Side
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:58 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:22 am

TeaSwigger wrote:All seems well. It now reports LMDE KDE Edition like it should. :)


I think we now ironed out all the issues that remained since you first installed LMDE KDE.
And if you're at it, you can also install DDM with the two bugs solved:
http://schoelje.nl/lmdekde/packages/ddm_0.5.1_all.deb
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:26 am

Schoelje,
i can't install it :shock:
64bit version live-usb made with dd, md5 checked ok
live-installer stops at Setting Keyboard options (and it's there for more than 20 min now)
this is the relevant part (i think)
Code: Select all
 --> Setting the keyboard
  File "/usr/lib/live-installer/installer.py", line 492, in finish_install
    consolefh = open("/target/etc/default/console-setup", "r")

full log
Code: Select all
mint@mint ~ $ gksu live-installer
 ## INSTALLATION
Template path: /usr/share/live-installer/slideshow/template.html
 --> Installation started
EXECUTING: 'mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda8'
 --> Mounting partitions
 ------ Mounting /live/image/casper/filesystem.squashfs on /source/
EXECUTING: 'mount -o loop -t squashfs /live/image/casper/filesystem.squashfs /source/'
 ------ Mounting /dev/sda8 on /target/
EXECUTING: 'mount -t ext4 /dev/sda8 /target'
 --> Indexing files
 --> Copying files
  File "/usr/lib/live-installer/installer.py", line 182, in init_install
    self.do_copy_file(sourcepath, targetpath)
 --> Writing hostname
 --> Setting the locale
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "locale-gen"
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "update-locale LANG='en_GB.UTF-8'"
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "update-locale LANG=en_GB.UTF-8"
 --> Setting the timezone
 --> Localizing packages
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing InRelease
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian InRelease                   
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates InRelease
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing InRelease                             
Get:1 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian Release.gpg [197 B]                 
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/main amd64 Packages/DiffIndex
Get:2 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian Release [15.6 kB]
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/contrib amd64 Packages/DiffIndex
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/non-free amd64 Packages/DiffIndex
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/main i386 Packages/DiffIndex
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/contrib i386 Packages/DiffIndex
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/non-free i386 Packages/DiffIndex
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/contrib Translation-en/DiffIndex
Get:3 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/main amd64 Packages [19.8 kB]
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/main Translation-en/DiffIndex
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/non-free Translation-en/DiffIndex
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/main amd64 Packages
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/contrib amd64 Packages
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/non-free amd64 Packages       
Get:4 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/upstream amd64 Packages [5,387 B]   
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/main i386 Packages             
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/contrib i386 Packages         
Get:5 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/import amd64 Packages [63.2 kB]
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/non-free i386 Packages
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/main amd64 Packages/DiffIndex         
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/non-free amd64 Packages/DiffIndex     
Get:6 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/main i386 Packages [19.8 kB]       
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/main i386 Packages/DiffIndex           
Hit http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/non-free i386 Packages/DiffIndex       
Get:7 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/upstream i386 Packages [5,383 B]   
Get:8 http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/import i386 Packages [62.8 kB]     
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/contrib Translation-en_US     
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/contrib Translation-en         
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/main Translation-en_US         
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/main Translation-en           
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/non-free Translation-en_US     
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates/non-free Translation-en       
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/main Translation-en_US                 
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/main Translation-en                   
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/non-free Translation-en_US             
Ign http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/non-free Translation-en               
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/import Translation-en_US             
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/import Translation-en
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/main Translation-en_US
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/main Translation-en
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/upstream Translation-en_US
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian/upstream Translation-en
Fetched 192 kB in 38s (4,952 B/s)
Reading package lists... Done
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "apt-get update"
 --> Localizing KDE
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "apt-get install --yes --force-yes kde-l10n-en"
 --> Localizing LibreOffice
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "apt-get install --yes --force-yes libreoffice-l10n-en-gb"
 --> Localizing Firefox
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "apt-get install --yes --force-yes firefox-l10n-en-gb"
 --> Localizing Thunderbird
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "apt-get install --yes --force-yes thunderbird-l10n-en-gb"
 --> Setting the keyboard
  File "/usr/lib/live-installer/installer.py", line 492, in finish_install
    consolefh = open("/target/etc/default/console-setup", "r")


User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:50 am

i'm trying again and noticed something probably related
the installed never actually copies files to target (it flies through that part in seconds) and the localizing and setting keyboard (that if i recall should be the last part or close to the end) is reached in less than one minute.

i'm downloading again the iso (this time direct d/l) will make a new live-usb when finished and report back
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:12 pm

zerozero wrote:i'm trying again and noticed something probably related
the installed never actually copies files to target (it flies through that part in seconds) and the localizing and setting keyboard (that if i recall should be the last part or close to the end) is reached in less than one minute.

i'm downloading again the iso (this time direct d/l) will make a new live-usb when finished and report back


In you log I see this somewhere at the top:
Code: Select all
  File "/usr/lib/live-installer/installer.py", line 182, in init_install
    self.do_copy_file(sourcepath, targetpath)

As you can see, it simply wants to copy from sourcepath to targetpath.
So, it either cannot copy to /target where your HD is mounted or...it cannot read from your USB :shock:

I'm running an install now, and it actually is copying (and that takes a lot more than a few minutes).
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:19 pm

yep the issue has to be there

i was now browsing that partition and it's virtually empty so the self.do_copy_file(sourcepath, targetpath) is failing
i hope it just fails for me :wink:
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:24 pm

zerozero wrote:i hope it just fails for me :wink:

I just finished installing (with dutch localization) without a problem...sorry.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby zerozero on Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:33 pm

i changed a few variables so it's going to be hard to pin-point where the issue was but now with
- new iso d/led via direct download (previously via torrent)
- md5 checked ok (previously also)
- live-usb made with unetbootin (previously with dd)
- the usb and target partitions are the same both times

it's actually copying the files (and taking that time we know :mrgreen: )

guess it's one of those quirks that we better not try to explain
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby Schoelje on Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:57 pm

zerozero wrote:guess it's one of those quirks that we better not try to explain

I hate those kind of bugs... annoying and often untraceable.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby /Zoran\ on Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:54 pm

BostonPeng wrote:
BostonPeng wrote:This almost makes me wish I hadn't upgraded to UP6 already, but I discovered a great plus about UP6 last night: I can finally mount my external hard drive again!

I think I spoke too soon. I tried to mount my external hard drive yesterday and I'm back to the "unable to enumerate" error. I'll try to chase it down today and see if I can get it working again. If I can, and can figure out what I did right, I'll definitely write an article for my site about how I did it.


I'm also receiving enumerate errors when connecting my mobile phone. I'm pretty sure my cable is messed up, I read somewhere that this could cause these errors, or if you're not supplying enough power to the hard drive. But if your hard drive is working when you boot other distros, this might not be the problem. Anyway, just thought I should share.

I'm downloading LMDE KDE right now, @Schoelje, thanks a lot for your effort.
/Zoran\
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:17 am

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby BostonPeng on Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:02 pm

/Zoran\ wrote:
BostonPeng wrote:
BostonPeng wrote:This almost makes me wish I hadn't upgraded to UP6 already, but I discovered a great plus about UP6 last night: I can finally mount my external hard drive again!

I think I spoke too soon. I tried to mount my external hard drive yesterday and I'm back to the "unable to enumerate" error. I'll try to chase it down today and see if I can get it working again. If I can, and can figure out what I did right, I'll definitely write an article for my site about how I did it.


I'm also receiving enumerate errors when connecting my mobile phone. I'm pretty sure my cable is messed up, I read somewhere that this could cause these errors, or if you're not supplying enough power to the hard drive. But if your hard drive is working when you boot other distros, this might not be the problem. Anyway, just thought I should share.

I'm downloading LMDE KDE right now, @Schoelje, thanks a lot for your effort.

I have to plug my laptop in to run it (stupid old battery) but I did have a number of other tasks running so I'm hoping to try when I have few to no other things running. What threw me is that I had it working on LMDE KDE UP6 and then it didn't work, but I had been running a few other things that may have been getting in the way.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby mockturtl on Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:51 pm

Is there an upgrade path from RC1? I see DDM should be upgraded to 0.5.1; anything else?
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby ChipButty on Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:45 am

I hope to replace my Mint KDE partition with the unofficial LMDE KDE soon but I want it to point to sid. Can someone tell me what the sources are that I need to change, or point me to somwhere that has the info because I'm not sure from my searches that the sources I have found are current. Thanks.
ChipButty
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby lahirdenganselamat on Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:08 am

Schoelje, I just installed grub customizer and try to change the image background with my personal pict, but it wont happen before i delete the lmdekde_theme (the one saying that if grub background=lmde.png or something like that)

I don't have screenshot (forget to took it) but I think that script isn't needed.
With that script, even if I remove the lmdekde.png from /boot/grub and put another pict (newpict.png), the grub background won't use the newpict.png. It's black instead.
update-grub recognize that pict:
Code: Select all
Found background image: newpict.png
but it won't use it on real grub (because of that lmdekde_theme script)

I don't really know the script location, but I can see it from grub customizer and i can remove it from there. Now my grub showing my pict again :D

oh, and i tracking sid repo right now

@ ChipButty look here Craigevil's Giant Debian /etc/apt/sources.list and dont forget to remove your apt-preferences before upgrade
Last edited by lahirdenganselamat on Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
ASUS 1215B AMD E-350 with Linux Mint 15 KDE, Precise Puppy, and Saluki
User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby Schoelje on Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:12 am

ChipButty wrote:I hope to replace my Mint KDE partition with the unofficial LMDE KDE soon but I want it to point to sid. Can someone tell me what the sources are that I need to change, or point me to somwhere that has the info because I'm not sure from my searches that the sources I have found are current. Thanks.


I think this should work:
Code: Select all
echo "deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import" > /etc/apt/sources.list
echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian experimental main contrib non-free" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
echo "deb http://security.debian.org/ experimental/updates main contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
echo "deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org experimental main non-free" >> /etc/apt/sources.list

and you'll need to edit your /etc/apt/preferences file.
Haven't tested it, though.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby Schoelje on Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:16 am

lahirdenganselamat wrote:Schoelje, I just installed grub customizer and try to change the image background with my personal pict, but it wont happen before i delete the lmdekde_theme (the one saying that if grub background=lmde.png or something like that)

I don't have screenshot (forget to took it) but I think that script isn't needed.
With that script, even if I remove the lmdekde.png from /boot/grub and put another pict (newpict.png), the grub background won't use the newpict.png. It's black instead.
update-grub recognize that pict:
Code: Select all
Found background image: newpict.png
but it won't use it on real grub (because of that lmdekde_theme script)

I don't really know the script location, but I can see it from grub customizer and i can remove it from there. Now my grub showing my pict again :D


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get purge grub2-theme-lmdekde

should do the trick.

lahirdenganselamat wrote:oh, and i tracking sid repo right now

@ ChipButty look here Craigevil's Giant Debian /etc/apt/sources.list and dont forget to remove your apt-preferences before upgrade


Our posts just crossed...I think he'll found out how to do it.
User avatar
Schoelje
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: The unofficial LMDE KDE UP6

Postby lahirdenganselamat on Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:23 am

lol, i've just finished edit my post, not knowing that you've answer it :D

well, dont you think that the script need a fix? i don't know how, but Main edition can have it's grub background, and if user want to use another pict, one can simply copy the pict to /boot/grub, remove the old pict, and run sudo grub-update. With that script, even if grub-update recignize the file, it won't use it..
ASUS 1215B AMD E-350 with Linux Mint 15 KDE, Precise Puppy, and Saluki
User avatar
lahirdenganselamat
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:30 pm
Location: Yogyakarta

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Chat about Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests