Linux Puppy

Chat about Linux in general

Linux Puppy

Postby paddy1 on Sat Jun 07, 2008 7:02 pm

Is there any reason, why Puppy does not have it's own installer? I'm not a programmer, and I find the installation instructions overwhelming.
paddy1
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Linux Puppy

Postby 67GTA on Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:18 pm

It is meant to be a live CD like DSL and Slitaz. It really wasn't made to be an installable distro, thought it is painfully possible :D . That is why it is so small.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6

Postby Fred on Sun Jun 08, 2008 12:44 am

paddy1,

As 67GTA pointed out, Puppy was designed to run from a cd. Puppy runs in root all the time. I can't over emphasize how unwise this is for a traditional HD install.

Don't get me wrong, I like Puppy and use it as a back-up system and tool kit. It can be a life saver when all else fails. It really comes in handy for some maintenance and repair tasks. I always keep a copy handy.

I don't recommend you do a traditional install of Puppy to a hard drive though.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
Fred
Level 10
Level 10

Postby yamawho on Sun Jun 08, 2008 6:55 am

When I was running Puppy last year, I would run from the cd and set it up to save settings to a small hdd.
Worked great for me.
ImageImage
yamawho
Level 3
Level 3

Postby ed@Mint on Sun Jun 08, 2008 8:28 am

Moreover, an hdd install of Puppy is quite pointless since it fits entirely into your RAM.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org