Load balancing/failover/wireless firewall project.

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
miket

Re: Load balancing/failover/wireless firewall project.

Post by miket »

Hi !

I also run a computer support company in Suffolk and am a LinuxMint Partner ... It's nice to see another local
business using Linux Mint ... Clem will be happy :)
mindcandy wrote:Hi folks,
I work as a self employed PC repair bod in Norwich UK. Norwich is fairly well known in the UK for offering a number of free wireless access points that can be used within the city limits, providing you abide by the relevant T&C's. A few of my customers are charity organisations which make use of these wireless hotspots for email and the like, but find the bandwidth available is generally low and the connections are subject to timeouts and disconnects if not 'kept live' or if connected for over an hour continuously.
The system in Norwich is designed for occasional use whilst out and about ... and probably isn't supposed to be used by organisations :)
I'm sure there'll be something in the small print somewhere about this :)
A few of these hotspots overlap and in at least one of my clients cases I can see over half a dozen 'free' wireless connections.

What I would like to do is create a load balancing firewall with failover capabilities that has multiple wireless network cards in order to connect to several of the available wireless hotspots at once. The hope is that my clients could make use of a higher, combined bandwidth and suffer fewer disconnects whilst keeping costs down (no ISP fees).
This won't work at all ... to do this type of loading balancing the organisation providing the service will also need to have the ability to handle
such a load balancing service, which they are not going to offer for free :)