A very BIG THANK YOU! and a rant...

Chat about Linux in general

A very BIG THANK YOU! and a rant...

Postby FirebirdTN on Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:56 pm

First off, hats off to all involved in Linux Mint! You have my sincerest appreciation! You have created exactly what I have been looking for, and I can't thank you guys enough!

Okay, for my rant:

This is only my second post here. I am still a newbie when it comes to Linux, but have been tinkering with it off/on now for a number of years. Without making my long rant needlessly longer, I have a two year old laptop with 2nd gen core i5 processor, BUT have been running WindowsXP on it due in part to work necessity, but mostly because of choice.

I have been using Microsoft products since the Win95 days. Lets be honest-that is what I used (and got used to using) because "everyone else" did too. Compatibility of existing software was usually broken in some fashion along the way after Windows upgrades (9x->2K->XP), but mostly it wasn't too bad. Then 64bit computing arrived, and although some things remain compatible, in my mind the transition from XP to beyond was a pretty big hurdle in some cases. So I decided to sit it out. Then the world of smart phones and tablets arrived, which seems to have revolutionized the way we use "computers".

I knew I would eventually jump ship, and I wanted to move to a linux platform. So I looked at ubuntu, mainly because when did my research I wanted the most popular distro so I could have the widest range of support. I tinkered with it, and really liked it, but I just wasn't ready to make that leap just yet. The next LTS version came out, and I quickly snagged an .ISO and booted it up, but was severely disappointing. What had happened to the traditional desktop? Of course I did find out about "sudo apt-get install gnome-session-fallback", but I just didn't like the direction it was headed. I am not knocking it, but its just not my cup of tea.