love linux but...

Chat about Linux in general

love linux but...

Postby valerie on Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:04 pm

I'm new to Linux and already love it, but not yet ready to give up my Windows Vista because I like the side bar. When I come home from work I can look at the side bar and see how my stocks and 401k are doing, and the weather bug is on the side bar too. Also, my husband likes Vista because he is very computer illiterate and he can just log off my desktop and click onto a windows icon for his desktop. Is there anything like that for Linux? If so I am willing to erase Vista forever.
valerie

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: love linux but...

Postby JawsThemeSwimming428 on Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:07 pm

I have never used it but for Gnome I believe you can use these... http://www.gdesklets.de/
JawsThemeSwimming428
Level 1
Level 1

Postby magnus0 on Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:49 pm

magnus0
Level 1
Level 1

Postby IceCrystal on Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:30 pm

valerie wrote:I'm new to Linux and already love it, but not yet ready to give up my Windows Vista because I like the side bar. When I come home from work I can look at the side bar and see how my stocks and 401k are doing, and the weather bug is on the side bar too. Also, my husband likes Vista because he is very computer illiterate and he can just log off my desktop and click onto a windows icon for his desktop. Is there anything like that for Linux? If so I am willing to erase Vista forever.

Of course you will erase Windows Vista forever :D As magnus0 said, Screenlets can add a sidebar for you, i have also used Screenlets alot.
Here you have (if you dont have it) the Sidebar for Screenlets like the one in Vista: http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show.php/Sidebar+Screenlet+(with+docking)?content=63172.
IceCrystal
Level 1
Level 1

Postby ronnoc on Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:27 pm

Don't forget about Google Gadgets...They can do everything you are asking.. and are OS independent :D

http://desktop.google.com/plugins/