How to install Presto?

Chat about Linux in general

How to install Presto?

Postby khsbenny on Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:57 pm

I want to install Presto but am not sure how. It's a .exe with no sign of an ISO.

Anyone have any success with it? and will I have any issues with GRUB?

Thanks, Ben

Forget this, after a bit more searching it doesn't seem possible. Only supports Windows bootloader. Seems crazy to me, a linux based system not supporting linux. Thats commercialisation for you.
khsbenny
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:40 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to install Presto?

Postby lagagnon on Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:22 pm

It is a commercial system that you pay for. They use the Xandros Linux kernel to construct the fast booting system and they want to make money out of it so they are targetting Windows users who are happy to part with money for software. You can build your own fast booting OS with "Tiny Core Linux" if you like a bit of a challenge!
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: How to install Presto?

Postby GoustiFruit on Sat Oct 03, 2009 4:26 am

lagagnon wrote:It is a commercial system that you pay for. They use the Xandros Linux kernel to construct the fast booting system and they want to make money out of it so they are targetting Windows users who are happy to part with money for software. You can build your own fast booting OS with "Tiny Core Linux" if you like a bit of a challenge!


That's why you may pay for something: they provide you with something that would require a bit of a challenge for you to achieve the same result. Sometimes you just need things that work, instead of things you have to make work.
User avatar
GoustiFruit
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:07 am


Return to Chat about Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests