Some useful tweakings for Ubuntus

Chat about Linux in general

Some useful tweakings for Ubuntus

Postby kanishka on Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:12 am

Here http://ubuntusoftware.info/Howto_tweak_ ... imate.html are some quick and useful tweakings for a better *Ubuntu experience. I applied some of them to Cassandra Mint (i.e. disabling laptop services on my desktop computer), and everything is fine. I advice to take a look.
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Some useful tweakings for Ubuntus

Postby poision on Sun Sep 16, 2007 1:16 am

Hi kanishka thanks for nice link.But i found it very useful for desktop rather than laptop.But overall its good.Can you pls tell me how to check processor performance?I ve amd turion x2 dual core laptop.I always have doubt that linux not getting my dual core processor n treating it as single core.Can you help me something on this?
Regards
praveen
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Re: Some useful tweakings for Ubuntus

Postby kanishka on Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:30 am

poision wrote:I always have doubt that linux not getting my dual core processor n treating it as single core.Can you help me something on this?
Regards
praveen


Unfortunately I can't help you on this, because I have that same doubt you have :roll:
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Postby 900i on Sun Sep 16, 2007 5:11 am

Open a terminal and type "top", This will show you on the 3rd line down how many CPU's are detected. Or type "cat /proc/cpuinfo"
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby poision on Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:26 am

900i wrote:Open a terminal and type "top", This will show you on the 3rd line down how many CPU's are detected. Or type "cat /proc/cpuinfo"

hey buddy thanks it saying i ve dual core cpu.Well can u pls tell me one thing?I ve downloaded amd power monitor for linux from amd.com.Its in .rpm format.But when i used alien to install it its not completing coverting in deb and no installation.Same happening with few other .rpm files?I m not getting whats wrong going there.Please guide.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby kanishka on Thu Sep 20, 2007 2:35 am

900i wrote:Open a terminal and type "top", This will show you on the 3rd line down how many CPU's are detected. Or type "cat /proc/cpuinfo"


2 cores detected, thank you very much :D
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Postby poision on Thu Sep 20, 2007 6:47 am

Hi which graphic card you are having?Are you able to connect tv output using s-video?Its not working on my laptop.
User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Postby kanishka on Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:24 pm

I have a GeForce 7600GS, but I never tried connecting it to a tv...
kanishka
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Chat about Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BenTrabetere, mitstube and 4 guests