Help restore Mint Menu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Help restore Mint Menu

Postby goodpanos on Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:09 pm

I have Bianca installed and everything worked out great. I started messing around with different window themes though, and somehow lost my Mint menu.

After I rebooted I did "Add to panel..." and selected Linux Mint Menu, but nothing happened. I was forced to then add Main Menu just so I can have a menu. Now the menu, taskbar and the system tray don't work right. I now don't have the menu with the favorite items, Amorok does not show up in the system tray any more but somewhere on the top screen corner.

Is there a way to get the Mint Menu that comes by default in Biance back!?

Any help is appreciated.
goodpanos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:31 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby clem on Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:10 pm

Code: Select all
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/mintmenu


and eventually:

Code: Select all
gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/panel


Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Help restore Mint Menu

Postby goodpanos on Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:43 pm

Thank you...
That put back the correct taskbar I guess but there is no Menu. I got the Tomboy, Search, and minimize all but no Menu.

Please advise.
goodpanos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:31 pm

Postby clem on Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:27 pm

you can add it by right clicking on the panel and choosing Add to Panel, then Linux Mint Menu.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Help restore Mint Menu

Postby goodpanos on Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:56 pm

Thanks again for your reply.

When I added the Linux Mint Menu nothing happened.

One thing I want to mention here is that I got the same behavior when I upgraded from Bea to Bianca. I would add the Linux Mint Menu and nothing would happen. Then I did a fresh install of Bianca and got the new menu. I have a feeling that Linux Mint Menu doesn't do anything.

In any case Amorok now displays in the system tray as before and I added the Main Menu which I seem to like better. It has all the menus in one.

But for other users who might experience the same issue they will have to come up with another solution.
goodpanos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:31 pm

Postby clem on Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:40 pm

you can check the output of this:

Code: Select all
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py run-in-window


Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby goodpanos on Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:02 pm

Here you go:
Code: Select all
Loading plugin 'places' : sucessful
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py:147: GtkWarning: Attempting to add a widget with type GtkImage to a GtkEventBox, but as a GtkBin subclass a GtkEventBox can only contain one widget at a time; it already contains a widget of type GtkImage
  ImageBox.add( Image1 )
Loading plugin 'system_management' : sucessful
Loading plugin 'applications' : sucessful
EXEC=file-roller'
EXEC=gcalctool'
EXEC=gnomebaker'
EXEC=gucharmap'
EXEC=gnome-dictionary'
EXEC=baobab'
EXEC=kfilereplace'
EXEC=beagle-search'
EXEC=gnome-screenshot'
EXEC=gnome-terminal'
EXEC=gedit'
EXEC=f-spot'
EXEC=firefox'
EXEC=mozilla-suite'
EXEC=mozilla-suite'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 612, in ?
    menu_factory(app, None)
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 602, in menu_factory
    MenuWin(applet, iid)
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 387, in __init__
    self.mainwin = MainWindow(self.toggle)
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 53, in __init__
    self.PopulatePlugins()
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 248, in PopulatePlugins
    self.plugins[plugin].do_plugin()
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 624, in do_plugin
    self.Todos()
  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 363, in Todos
    PlaceCategories = grandchild.parent.name
AttributeError: 'gmenu.Separator' object has no attribute 'parent'
goodpanos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:31 pm

Postby clem on Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:07 pm

gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/mintMenu

(note the capital M).

then try again...

if that doesn't work, then :

cd ~
rm -rf .linuxmint

then try again...

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby goodpanos on Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:20 pm

Nothing. No change. I ended putting back the Main Menu again. :(
goodpanos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:31 pm

Postby desertViking on Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:21 pm

I had the same problem. It appears to be some sort of permissions thing. I ended up

cd ~
sudo rm -rf .linuxmint

because I was getting some failures. This cleared things up.
desertViking
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:48 pm

here is another output...

Postby n3v3rm1nd on Tue May 01, 2007 7:05 am

Loading plugin 'places' : sucessful
mintMenu_frontend.py:147: GtkWarning: Attempting to add a widget with type GtkImage to a GtkEventBox, but as a GtkBin subclass a GtkEventBox can only contain one widget at a time; it already contains a widget of type GtkImage
ImageBox.add( Image1 )
Loading plugin 'system_management' : sucessful
Loading plugin 'applications' : sucessful
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "mintMenu_frontend.py", line 613, in ?
menu_factory(app, None)
File "mintMenu_frontend.py", line 603, in menu_factory
MenuWin(applet, iid)
File "mintMenu_frontend.py", line 388, in __init__
self.mainwin = MainWindow(self.toggle)
File "mintMenu_frontend.py", line 53, in __init__
self.PopulatePlugins()
File "mintMenu_frontend.py", line 248, in PopulatePlugins
self.plugins[plugin].do_plugin()
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 710, in do_plugin
self.Todos()
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 366, in Todos
CategoryButton = MakeAButton( self.width * 2 / 5 - 20, -1, gtk.RELIEF_NONE, categoryIcon, self.iconsize, -1, -1, [child.name] )
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 92, in MakeAButton
Icon = GetProperIcon( IconName, IconSize )
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 34, in GetProperIcon
if IconDescription[-4:] in [".png", ".xpm", ".svg"] and IconDescription[0:1] == "/":
TypeError: unsubscriptable object
User avatar
n3v3rm1nd
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:32 pm

Postby lars on Tue May 01, 2007 10:30 am

n3v3rm1nd this will be fixed in mintMenu 2.1.

If you want to solve the issue for you now: Open /usr/lib/linuxmint/plugins/applications.py with admin rights. ( Alt+F2 "gksu gedit /usr/lib/linuxmint/plugins/applications.py" should do it )

And then append
Code: Select all
 or ""
to line 362.
It should now look like this:
Code: Select all
categoryIcon = child.icon or ""
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Postby n3v3rm1nd on Tue May 01, 2007 10:54 am

Thanks a lot mate :) that worked like a charm for me :)
Keep up the good work :D I will report any bugs etc. on time because I am using Bianca on a daily basis
User avatar
n3v3rm1nd
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:32 pm

The upgrade to mintMenu 2.1 again messing up the situation..

Postby n3v3rm1nd on Mon May 07, 2007 6:55 am

Hi there all you hardworkers :) I managed to sort out the problems per lars's suggestions who I'm very grateful for the help. Today I wanted to install Google Earth and decided to give a try on mintInstall but guess what :) after adding the cassandra repositories and the consequent upgrade to mintMenu 2.1 my menu is like cutted on every edge and only a slim column is visible with 1 option on it..
Here is the output of the command Clem gave us for troubleshooting...
Loading plugin 'places' : sucessful
Loading plugin 'system_management' : sucessful
Loading plugin 'applications' : sucessful
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 619, in ?
menu_factory(app, None)
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 609, in menu_factory
MenuWin(applet, iid)
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 388, in __init__
self.mainwin = MainWindow(self.toggle)
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 58, in __init__
self.PopulatePlugins()
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 246, in PopulatePlugins
self.plugins[plugin].do_plugin()
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 695, in do_plugin
self.Todos()
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 405, in Todos
self.buildButtonList()
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 472, in buildButtonList
CategoryButton = easyButton( categoryIcon, self.iconsize, [ child.get_name() ] )
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 98, in __init__
icon = self.getIcon( self.iconSize )
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 142, in getIcon
Icon = iconManager.getIcon( self.iconName, iconSize )
File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 51, in getIcon
if iconName[-4:] in [".png", ".xpm", ".svg", ".gif"] and iconName[0:1] == "/":
TypeError: unsubscriptable object

Thanks in advance I think it's something with the easybuttons :)


Comment: I tried to remove it from the panel and add it again now back to the point with editing applications.py but line 362 is completely different with this version...
User avatar
n3v3rm1nd
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:32 pm

Postby lars on Tue May 08, 2007 12:47 pm

hm... looks like it hasn't been fixed, sorry, my fault.

replace your /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py with http://websvn.nutime.de/viewvc.cgi/Linu ... revision=9
it hopfully should work now.
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Postby n3v3rm1nd on Wed May 09, 2007 4:18 am

yep that's right lars it works :) the only thing that is strange is that the problem from versions 1.x with the menu staying open after you choose an app remains unsolved for me.Anyway thanks a lot for the help again 8)
User avatar
n3v3rm1nd
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:32 pm

Postby lars on Wed May 09, 2007 9:36 am

The menu-not-closing-bug is fixed in svn.
If you want you can also fetch the other files and replaces yours with them, but you should be aware that they might not be stable.

The svn address is svn://svn.nutime.de/linuxmint/mintMenu/trunk/
If you don't know what svn is, or don't want to install a svn client you can also use the websvn
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Re: Help restore Mint Menu

Postby zine92 on Fri Jan 02, 2009 3:12 am

hello people.. i have a similar problem but with the felicia version..
Code: Select all
When I logged on, I got a message, "The panel encountered a problem while loading "OAFIID:GNOME_mintMenu". Do you want to delete the applet from your configuration?"

this is the problem you see.. and i dun noe where to reinstall that applet.........
I am a noob at both linux and programming... I dun wanna suck but i wanna learn linux..
zine92
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:11 am

Re: Help restore Mint Menu

Postby 2kemon on Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:34 am

I accidentally deleted the MintMenu, and I don know how to restore it. There isn't a folder called MintMenu in /usr/lib/linuxmint
I can't add it by right clicking the panel, since it isn't there anymore.
I've tried downloading and installing it, but apparently some of the files that are supposed to be downloaded while installing are missing.

I really don't know what to do, so a little help would be very cool.
2kemon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:43 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Help restore Mint Menu

Postby clhodapp on Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:00 pm

So you deleted mintMenu by deleting the folder edit: in /usr/lib/linuxmint/?
Have you tried reinstalling with synaptic?
If so and it failed, here's an idea: open a terminal and type:
Code: Select all
apt download mintmenu

Open your home folder and extract the deb it just downloaded (mintmenu_4.7.8_all.deb).
Extract the "data.tar.gz" that is inside the folder it made.
All the files you need should be inside.
clhodapp
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:57 am
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pierre and 22 guests