No mintmenu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

No mintmenu

Postby sski on Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:44 am

I click the menu icon, and I don't get the actual mint menu. It looks something like just a old File menu, with everything in it. How can I fix this?
I had used a Linux Mint live cd in the past, it was version 7. I recently downloaded and installed the latest version, but it doesn't seem to work very well. Main problem being that Mint menu doesn't load. And also, I have no idea where I can change the display settings, since I am running this on a laptop but just want it to display onto my external display. Help would be greatfully appreciated, thanks.
sski
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No mintmenu

Postby zerozero on Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:54 am

can you open a terminal and give us the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -S
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: No mintmenu

Postby sski on Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:57 am

It says

System: Host Linux Kernel 2.6.38- 8- generic i686(32 bit) Distro Linux Mint 11 LXDE
sski
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:35 am

Re: No mintmenu

Postby zerozero on Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:10 am

yeahh, i would imagine so :)
what you have is LXDE http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1793 and that is lxde's menu, mintmenu is a gnome "thingy" http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1760

and mintmenu doesn't work in LXDE
by Kendall on Mon Jul 12, 2010 6:42 am

vincent wrote:Right click your mintMenu and select "Reload plugins". If that doesn't work, logout and log back in.


The LXDE menu doesn't have an option to reload the plugins. As mintMenu doesn't work in LXDE, adding it isn't an effective option either.

Open the file manager and navigate to /usr/share/applications and see if there is a launcher there for QCad. If there is, then open it with Leafpad and post the contents here. If there is not, then let me know and I'll try to make a .desktop file for you.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: No mintmenu

Postby sski on Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:15 am

Oh I see, just downloaded the wrong thing then! Thanks so much :D
sski
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:35 am

Re: No mintmenu

Postby zerozero on Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:20 am

sski wrote:just downloaded the wrong thing then

the wrong thing :lol: well, Kendall doesn't think so, neither a lot of other very enthusiastic users, LXDE looks very nice and i for sure have to give it a try shortly, but i know what you mean :lol: 8) was just joking :D
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: curt and 11 guests