[SOLVED] Program added to Startup Applications doesn't

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Program added to Startup Applications doesn't

Postby kwatson512 on Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:42 pm

I installed Desktop Drapes to get rotating backgrounds. In the program's preferences you can check to have it start on login, which I did. I then opened up Startup Applications to double check that it was included there, which it is. But it does not start on login. It works fine when I manually start it.

Running Mint 11 64-bit on a Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E420s laptop (quad Intel i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz, 8GB RAM).
Last edited by kwatson512 on Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint 16 64-bit Cinnamon, Lenovo ThinkPad T430s, 8GB RAM
kwatson512
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 7:16 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Program added to Startup Applications doesn't

Postby xenopeek on Sun Aug 21, 2011 1:37 am

This is a recurring issue with Desktop Drapes, and I'm baffled why that team doesn't include a fix. It has been an open issue for the past 4 years (https://bugs.launchpad.net/drapes/+bug/292051), and still everybody has to manually find this solution :(

1. From the Desktop Drapes' preferences, disable the start on login.
2. Go to Startup Applications and confirm it is removed
3. Add a new entry, give it name "Start Desktop Drapes" (or whatever you want) and command:
Code: Select all
sh -c "sleep 20 && drapes &"

This should start Desktop Drapes with a 20 second delay.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14730
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Program added to Startup Applications doesn't

Postby kwatson512 on Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:04 am

Vincent,

Thank you! Any reason you picked 20 seconds? I changed it to 10 and it seems to work fine.

Ken
Mint 16 64-bit Cinnamon, Lenovo ThinkPad T430s, 8GB RAM
kwatson512
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 7:16 pm

Re: Program added to Startup Applications doesn't

Postby xenopeek on Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:51 am

kwatson512 wrote:Vincent,

Thank you! Any reason you picked 20 seconds? I changed it to 10 and it seems to work fine.

Ken

Whatever works :wink: It needs to delay past loading all the other startup applications; if 10 seconds is enough, that's fine.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14730
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], momist and 24 guests