No icons in Mintmenu on Squeeze

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

No icons in Mintmenu on Squeeze

Postby tomast on Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:42 pm

I wanted to try out Debian Squeeze but I missed having the Mint Menu...
So I did my best to install it and it works fine, only it seems to
be missing the icons. I wonder if anyone else has done this and
already knew how to fix this little prob. ?
The other menus have the icons but for some reason Mint Menu doesn't ???
I installed a bunch of .deb from http://packages.linuxmint.com/list.php? ... ebian#main
but I guess I am missing something.
I already am running Mint Debian but I just wanted to try out Squeeze just for kicks.
Anyone have any ideas about the icons ? I tried searching Google and the Mint forum for
answers but only got more and more confused... ;-)

On a side note, I am still using GLORIA as my main OS and I still think she is the best
OS Mint ever made. The only thing I wish is that I could upgrade the hardware support.
Attachments
installed.png
installed.png (32.93 KiB) Viewed 1094 times
mintmenu.png
mintmenu.png (41.25 KiB) Viewed 1094 times
app_menu.png
app_menu.png (44.53 KiB) Viewed 1094 times
Image
User avatar
tomast
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No icons in Mintmenu on Squeeze

Postby zerozero on Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:28 pm

tomast,
check this please

Another thing worth mentioning is that mintMenu is now using pixels to define the size of its icons. After upgrading mintMenu, you can do the following:

Right-click on mintMenu and select “Preferences”
Click on the “Applications” tab and change the icon size to 22
Click on the “Favorites” tab and change the icon size to 48
Click on the “Places” tab and change the icon size to 16
Click on the “System” tab and change the icon size to 16

in the blog
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1595
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: No icons in Mintmenu on Squeeze

Postby tomast on Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:41 pm

Much thanks Zerozero
That works great.

I wonder if Clem will ever make a "stable" version of Mint Debian ?
One can always hope ;-)
I don't care about the "latest and greatest" I just want stuff to work.
Buy the way Squeeze says it is using only 126 MB memory to run.
Sweet ! On this old machine it is blazing fast....


Thanks again,
TomasT
Image
User avatar
tomast
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:02 pm

Re: No icons in Mintmenu on Squeeze

Postby livram79 on Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:42 am

tomast wrote:I wonder if Clem will ever make a "stable" version of Mint Debian ?
One can always hope ;-)
I don't care about the "latest and greatest" I just want stuff to work.
Buy the way Squeeze says it is using only 126 MB memory to run.
Sweet ! On this old machine it is blazing fast....


Hi. You can use Linux Mint based on Debian Squeeze.
Please see this thread viewtopic.php?f=200&t=82460&p=479327&hilit=debian+squeeze#p479327
I also hope that the "Latest repository" of Linux Mint will become stable enough for production.
livram79
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:26 am
Location: romania


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas, Bolle1961, hanspb, johnfound and 27 guests