Installing software

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Installing software

Postby H1l4nd3r on Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:39 pm

Hi, I am a complete Newbie with Linux. I have just installed Linux Mint (this very evening) on an old laptop of mine and I havent got the first clue of how to install ANYTHING. What i am looking to do is install Kismet for a Uni project. Any help? thanks in advance.

p.s - complete newbie, I have scoured the google seas but nothing makes any sense to me.
H1l4nd3r
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Installing software

Postby 900i on Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:18 pm

Open Synaptic Package Manager, and search for Kismet, then mark for installation. You will need an internet connection as all the packages are stored online in repositories
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Installing software

Postby H1l4nd3r on Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:34 pm

Nice one thanks. is there anything else i need to do? I cannot find Kismet in my applications.
H1l4nd3r
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Installing software

Postby 900i on Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:52 pm

Have you actually installed "Kismet"
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Installing software

Postby H1l4nd3r on Sun Mar 02, 2008 3:58 pm

I've only done what you said to do, other than that i've looked around files and folders searching for it but cant find it, I've already downloaded the kismet.tar.gz which was sitting on my desktop prior to me using the synaptic package manager which you suggested, I was under the impression that I would have to imput some code into the command prompt screen.

Basically all i have done is what you suggested i do.

thanks for your help.
H1l4nd3r
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Installing software

Postby 900i on Sun Mar 02, 2008 4:27 pm

It's already installed and must be a CLI app then. You will need to read the manual for it as I am not familiar with it.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Installing software

Postby jbaerbock on Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:39 am

Ok so you found it in synaptic package manager and clicked on it and clicked on install then hit apply to download and install the packages? You need not download anything as Synaptic does it all for you. If you did all this and it still does not appear anywhere on your menu there are two things you can do. Go into the Terminal and type Kismet. Or all the programs installed under your username are stored in filesystem->User->Bin. So use nautilus to navigate to that folder then start typing Kismet and it should auto jump to that file. Double click it and bingo blango it should run.
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Re: Installing software

Postby 900i on Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:54 am

It does run in terminal, but it needs parameters passing to it that's why I told him to R.T.F.M. Type "man kismet" in a terminal.
Last edited by 900i on Mon Mar 03, 2008 6:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Installing software

Postby jbaerbock on Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:16 am

Ah gotcha, yeah I've never used it. Decided to just give him the basic info on finding any program not added to menu auto-style.
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Re: Installing software

Postby H1l4nd3r on Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:46 pm

Thanks guys, i've read this manual quite a few times now, been on google a while now too AND i have tried typing several things into the terminal but i'm getting nowhere. so far I have been able to access root, but when i TRY to configure anything (which i dont know how to do either) i keep getting these errors;

FATAL: Please configure at least one packet source. Kismet will not function if no packet sources are defined in kismet.conf or on the command line. Please read the README for more information about configuring Kismet.
Kismet exiting.

I have tried to configure packets etc and have read the README file a few times too,

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

also - sounds dumb i know - but, I am struggling to locate drivers for my wifi card therefore my card is not installed, would this be the cause of the problem?
H1l4nd3r
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Installing software

Postby jbaerbock on Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:22 pm

What WiFi card are you using? Some can have the driver installed via Windows Wireless Driver Installer and some can be found elsewhere as linux versions. Also have you tried running the restricted drivers app yet? It sometimes can detect what you need and install it with not much fuss.
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Re: Installing software

Postby H1l4nd3r on Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:36 pm

restricted drivers app? sounds handy. its a cable and wireless laptop card.

i tried that windows wireless driver installer too but that doesnt seem to do much.

so how do i locate/use the restricted drivers app?
H1l4nd3r
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:30 pm

Re: Installing software

Postby jbaerbock on Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:23 pm

Go to Control Panel, scroll down to the System section and you will see Restricted Drivers Manager. Click that and it will tell you which driver it can help you with simply click to activate and may require restart, then all set.
jbaerbock
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: St. Peter, MN

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], twodots and 23 guests