Conky not loading properly on startup

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Conky not loading properly on startup

Postby SynGates on Tue May 15, 2012 8:35 pm

Hello, I have Linux Mint on my old laptop and I have been configuring Conky and I can run it good from Terminal and the Alt+F2 command but when I configure Mint to load it on system startup it does not load properly. It practically loads over the status bar. I will provide a picture below.

Is there a quick way to fix this?

http://i.imgur.com/Xuf9r.png
SynGates
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 8:30 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Conky not loading properly on startup

Postby Habitual on Tue May 15, 2012 9:56 pm

increase "gap y" value...
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
My DorkBlog
shellshock.conf for fail2ban 0.8.10
User avatar
Habitual
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2179
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce

Re: Conky not loading properly on startup

Postby mikecrosoft on Wed May 16, 2012 3:49 pm

Hello SynGates. Edit your .conkyrc file, it should be located at /home/your_username_here unless you are loading a custom configuration file, look for "own_window_type" and try with "override", "desktop" and "normal" values. Try them in the exposed order, save your configuration after each try and reaload conky with its .conkyrc file. Examples:
Code: Select all
own_window_type override
own_window_type desktop
own_window_type normal

Hope this helps!.
User avatar
mikecrosoft
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:20 pm

Re: Conky not loading properly on startup

Postby dawgdoc on Tue May 29, 2012 3:41 am

thank you mikecrosoft,

Adding own_window_type desktop corrected the problem I was having with conky.
I already had hte override line in from previous configurations.

Running LM-13, installed a few days ago. top would indicate that conky was running, but nothing was visible.
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 Dual-Boot: Mint 13 Gnome x32 PAE, LMDE
READING: The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini
User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Kentucky, USA the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Conky not loading properly on startup

Postby mikecrosoft on Tue May 29, 2012 6:47 pm

Hello everyone. You're welcome dawgdoc, desktop value works right with conky on Mint; there's only one little disadvantage, if you press the button or hit the keybind to show the desktop conky also gets iconified, but at the moment I haven't found a better solution. If you use only a window manager, like openbox, override value works as it has to. Wish you all a great day!.
User avatar
mikecrosoft
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:20 pm

Re: Conky not loading properly on startup

Postby Oscar799 on Wed May 30, 2012 10:43 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8873
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest