Can't play commercial DVD's

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby bruc3w4yn3 on Mon May 21, 2012 11:47 pm

Hey, I'm quite new to Linux yet, so any help would be appreciated!

I'm trying to play a DVD, any commercial DVD on my laptop, but VLC keeps saying

Playback failure:
DVDRead could not open the disc "/dev/dvd".
Your input can't be opened:
VLC is unable to open the MRL 'dvd:///dev/dvd'. Check the log for details.

I've looked up this problem on google, and seen a number of people who had similar problems, but the solutions they tried have not helped me so far. I tried changing the disc name to "/dev/sr0", I tried manually mounting the DVD drive, downloaded regionset as well as libdvdcss4. When I try to use regionset, it gives me the following error;

ERROR: Could not open disc "(null)"!
Please ensure there is a readable CD or DVD in the drive.

I also tried using Gnome Mplayer to no avail. Thank you for any help you can give!
bruc3w4yn3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby kc1di on Tue May 22, 2012 6:26 am

welcome to linux and the mint forums bruc3w4yn3,

In VLC - you have to tell it where to find the DVD . the defualt does not always do it.

Go to Media tab select open disc in the box that comes up select Disc if not already selected,
There will be a drop down menu That by default says
Code: Select all
 /dev/dvd 
click on the little down arrow and select
Code: Select all
/dev/cdrom


Give that a try if it does not work then try hitting the browse button and find your dvd it will most likely be
Code: Select all
 /mnt/<title of DVD>


Either way it should work.

you can make a symbolic link to the correct location so you don't have to do this every time but lets see if this gets it playing for now.
then we can deal with the link later.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
LinuxMint 17.1 Cinnamon/Mate
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby nomko on Tue May 22, 2012 7:42 am

Check here: https://sites.google.com/site/tipsandtricksforubuntu/multimedia/how-to-add-multimedia. And especially the section about DVD playback.
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby kc1di on Tue May 22, 2012 7:47 am

nomko wrote:Check here: https://sites.google.com/site/tipsandtricksforubuntu/multimedia/how-to-add-multimedia. And especially the section about DVD playback.

Mint comes with all the multimedia codecs already installed you should not have to install them again.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
LinuxMint 17.1 Cinnamon/Mate
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby bruc3w4yn3 on Tue May 22, 2012 10:59 am

kc1di wrote:welcome to linux and the mint forums bruc3w4yn3,

In VLC - you have to tell it where to find the DVD . the defualt does not always do it.

Go to Media tab select open disc in the box that comes up select Disc if not already selected,
There will be a drop down menu That by default says
Code: Select all
 /dev/dvd 
click on the little down arrow and select
Code: Select all
/dev/cdrom


Give that a try if it does not work then try hitting the browse button and find your dvd it will most likely be
Code: Select all
 /mnt/<title of DVD>


Either way it should work.

you can make a symbolic link to the correct location so you don't have to do this every time but lets see if this gets it playing for now.
then we can deal with the link later.


I'm afraid it still gives me the same error, can't open /dev/cdrom. When I click the dropdown, there isn't any drive listed. I tried to manually mount the drive last night, but it doesn't seem to have had any effect.
bruc3w4yn3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:05 am

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby kc1di on Tue May 22, 2012 11:16 am

I'm afraid it still gives me the same error, can't open /dev/cdrom. When I click the dropdown, there isn't any drive listed. I tried to manually mount the drive last night, but it doesn't seem to have had any effect.


couple of possibilities.
1. does this drive get recognized by the system for other tasks? IE. playing audio cd or just any cd that you put into it?

2. does it mount the dvd at all. place a dvd or cd in the drive and look in /media/ see if it's there.
let me know if you find it or not.

3rd thought this isn't a usb drive is it?
John 3:16
Morse code an Early Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
LinuxMint 17.1 Cinnamon/Mate
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby bruc3w4yn3 on Tue May 22, 2012 11:35 am

kc1di wrote:couple of possibilities.
1. does this drive get recognized by the system for other tasks? IE. playing audio cd or just any cd that you put into it?

2. does it mount the dvd at all. place a dvd or cd in the drive and look in /media/ see if it's there.
let me know if you find it or not.


Nada. I tried cd, commercial dvd and burned dvd, and nothing for any of them. I have an Acer-Aspire 5810T-8929, and I'm pretty sure the disc drive has a mechanism built in for energy saving. When I was still using windows, to get it to recognize the drive at all I had to press the eject button and that would activate it. I'm wondering if this has anything to do with it. I have to get to work, but I will check back later, thank you!
bruc3w4yn3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:05 am

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby kc1di on Tue May 22, 2012 12:18 pm

bruc3w4yn3 wrote:
kc1di wrote:couple of possibilities.
1. does this drive get recognized by the system for other tasks? IE. playing audio cd or just any cd that you put into it?

2. does it mount the dvd at all. place a dvd or cd in the drive and look in /media/ see if it's there.
let me know if you find it or not.


Nada. I tried cd, commercial dvd and burned dvd, and nothing for any of them. I have an Acer-Aspire 5810T-8929, and I'm pretty sure the disc drive has a mechanism built in for energy saving. When I was still using windows, to get it to recognize the drive at all I had to press the eject button and that would activate it. I'm wondering if this has anything to do with it. I have to get to work, but I will check back later, thank you!


Good at least that explains why it's not working VLC It's not the program.

If I find anything further will post it here.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
LinuxMint 17.1 Cinnamon/Mate
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby bruc3w4yn3 on Tue May 22, 2012 9:33 pm

kc1di wrote:
Good at least that explains why it's not working VLC It's not the program.

If I find anything further will post it here.


Thanks! I'll keep checking back.
bruc3w4yn3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:05 am

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby kc1di on Wed May 23, 2012 6:45 am

bruc3w4yn3 wrote:
kc1di wrote:
Good at least that explains why it's not working VLC It's not the program.

If I find anything further will post it here.


Thanks! I'll keep checking back.

I'm Sorry - I've searched all the sources i have either not many people have your machine and use Linux or they have never posted much about it.
perhaps someone will come along who's has the Acer-Aspire 5810T-8929 and give you some help.

Only reference I could find to the DVD rom in your machine is that they are prone to fail.

sorry could not be of more help.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
LinuxMint 17.1 Cinnamon/Mate
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby mastablasta on Wed May 23, 2012 7:27 am

bruc3w4yn3 wrote:I'm afraid it still gives me the same error, can't open /dev/cdrom. When I click the dropdown, there isn't any drive listed. I tried to manually mount the drive last night, but it doesn't seem to have had any effect.


it could be that disk gets mounted somewhere else. For example a music CD on my mashcine gets mounted on /dev/sr01 for some reason

try to find correct mount point in VLC settings.
mastablasta
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby Waves on Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:47 pm

I have the same problem with Lubuntu 13.10 and gnome-mplayer. It looks for the movie in /dev/dvd while it is in /dev/sr0. If I create a link:

ln -s /dev/sr0 /dev/dvd

It works but the link is wiped out at the next reboot. It is not a codecs issue.

Can anybody help?
Waves
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:35 pm

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby AlbertP on Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:53 pm

You can put that command in the file /etc/rc.local to have it executed every time you boot.
Code: Select all
gksudo gedit /etc/rc.local
(replace gedit by pluma on MATE editions of Mint, and on Lubuntu you'd probably use leafpad as text editor)

By the way, could you check if the computer's DVD drive is perhaps manufactured by Matshita?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't play commercial DVD's

Postby Waves on Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:57 pm

Thanks Albert!

It worked like a charm. Do you have any idea why this problem occurred? Why isn't Ubuntu doing anything about this? I am shocked that at each new upgrade there is something fundamental that does not work.

Thanks.
Waves
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:35 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Cardenio, Google Adsense [Bot], UgoRipley and 37 guests