placing 4 workspaces on the taskbar - solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

placing 4 workspaces on the taskbar - solved

Postby LeftyMills on Thu May 24, 2012 2:26 am

Would someone please help me to place 4 workspaces on the taskbar.
computer specs
computer name Champion - manufactured in the Far East
processor 2x Pentium(R) dual-core CPU E6600 @ 3.06 GHz
memory 4076 MB
Operating system Linux Mint 11 Katya
Display resolution 1680 x 1080 pixels
Audio adapter HDA-Intel
Kernel Linux 2.6.38-8-generic-pae (i686)
Desktop Environment GNOME 2.32.1

Thank you for your help in this matter.

Lefty
Last edited by LeftyMills on Fri May 25, 2012 6:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
LeftyMills
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: placing 4 workspaces on the taskbar

Postby DataMan on Thu May 24, 2012 5:32 am

Try right clicking on the panel. You should see an option like add to panel (or similar wording). The app I think you are looking for is called something like workspace switcher.

Sorry I can't give you the precise wording. I've built so many variations of desktops in the last couple of months, that the exact wording is somewhat of a blur :lol: .

-DataMan

p.s. Sending this post from M10 Gnome.
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015
User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1210
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Indiana USA at /var/www

Re: placing 4 workspaces on the taskbar

Postby LeftyMills on Thu May 24, 2012 6:55 pm

DataMan -
Thank you for your help.
However, I did not ask the right question, so I did not get the answer that I'm looking for.
What I want is the 4 icons in a straight horizontal row that remain fixed (permanent). The workspace-switcher gives four icons arranged in 2 rows and 2 columns that seem to come and go as workspaces are opened and closed. I cannot cope with this - I need the old fashioned way.

Lefty
LeftyMills
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:46 pm

Re: placing 4 workspaces on the taskbar - solved

Postby LeftyMills on Fri May 25, 2012 5:20 am

I have now downoaded and installed Linux Mint 13 Mate 32 bit.
I right clicked the taskbar and from the "add to panel" list I added "window list", "window selector" and "workspace switcher".
The four boxes representing the 4 possible workspaces appeared in a horizontal row.

Lefty
LeftyMills
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:46 pm

Re: placing 4 workspaces on the taskbar

Postby DataMan on Fri May 25, 2012 6:33 am

I haven't installed M13 yet.

Questions:
1. Does the workspace switcher remain present in the panel?
2. Is it configurable (I usually run with 10 workspaces)?
3. Are you getting the app icons in the workspace switcher area?

TIA,

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015
User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1210
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Indiana USA at /var/www

Re: placing 4 workspaces on the taskbar - solved

Postby LeftyMills on Fri May 25, 2012 9:42 am

DataMan hi -
1) I deleted the workspace switcher in order to tidy up the panel. The 4 boxes remain.

2) configurable?
I do not have the knowledge to answer this question.

3) app icons?
When the app icons were in the panel, they were near the 4 boxes. I don't know how else to answer.

So far I am very happy with Mint 13 Mate 32 bit.

Lefty
LeftyMills
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:46 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], jollyjack, leonc, WharfRat and 27 guests