Setting up a backup/restore system

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Setting up a backup/restore system

Postby Steve_C on Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:17 pm

I'm a Linux newbie and I was wondering if I could get some help setting up and using simple backup for my Linux system at work. I'm running Linux Mint Daryna on a Dell Optiplex GX270 in a windows environment. I have installed simple backup using synaptic, configured the backups to run, and as far as I can tell the backups have been successful.

When I first configured simple backup, I accepted the defaults without making any changes. I realized later that each time my backup ran it was backing up a previous backup. Very soon I was out of disk space. I cleaned up some space and changed the configuration to exclude the backups.

Shortly after that I found out that I was causing a network issue by trying to attach to systems in my /network folder. Each time it tried a different connection it generated an access denied error. Well I wasn't trying to backup those systems anyway so I excluded my /network folder from the configuration and that problem was resolved.

At this time I realized that if my hard drive crashed all my backups were located on the same drive as my files so I attempted to transfer the backup files somewhere else. I found that the backup folder in /var had permissions set as root and while I could copy the files somewhere else I couldn't delete them. Also, I didn't really want to have to remember to copy, change file permissions of the files, and then delete the ones I had just copied. This is what the computer is for!