Linux Mint Sound Problems

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Linux Mint Sound Problems

Postby Dokkal on Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:49 pm

I have a Toshiba Satellite P100/P105 laptop

The intel sound card is not working with it, and I need help getting it to work, no sound is playing

Also, If anyone needs more info, I would be happy to try and find it, just tell me what you need
Dokkal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint Sound Problems

Postby rustyman99 on Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:30 pm

This link looks promising.

Edit: before diving too far in, try:
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.conf


and paste this into the file
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=auto


save and reboot

Good luck
rustyman99
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:23 pm

Re: Linux Mint Sound Problems

Postby Dokkal on Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:50 pm

No dice
Dokkal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Linux Mint Sound Problems

Postby Dennis99 on Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:05 am

I know this sounds daft but I have been trying to get sound working on my HP530 laptop with Intel 82801G sound for 24 hours and it started working after I plugged a jack into the headphone socket and then took it out again. Sound was then working - a long shot but worth a try. :?
User avatar
Dennis99
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 3:57 pm
Location: Gorleston, Norfolk, UK

Re: Linux Mint Sound Problems

Postby Dokkal on Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:10 pm

Nope, I've done that many times.
Dokkal
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:46 pm

Re: Linux Mint Sound Problems

Postby MagnusB on Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:43 pm

Some Intel cards needs a bit of configuration of the alsabase(?) file. Just google "card name ubuntu". Get the card name from;
Code: Select all
lspci

in a terminal window.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], gsagostinho, Reorx and 42 guests