New to linux sortof

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

New to linux sortof

Postby Wesdog on Wed Mar 26, 2008 10:23 pm

Hey guys Im new to linux kindof. I installed sabayon linux mini edition a few months ago and I booted into it for a couple of weeks. The entire time I was working in it I was trying to get flash to work in places like youtube. It would not work. I tried to get help on their forums and when I posed the question "why cant I just click a link and download the thing and install it like windows" everyone on the forum lost it and started being extremely rude to me. I guess since I didnt want to do things the "linux way" of going to a command prompt I was disrespecting them.

I dont want to have to pull up a window and type apt-get whatever for simple little things like a flash plugin for a browser. Does this linuxmint make things that should be simple one click things simple? Or is it going to be like sabayon where everything is 3x as complicated as it need be. I understand you can do more and have more power in by typing sudo this and that but I dont need power I just need flash to be installed for when my mom sends me an email of some stupid youtube video. Or my main problem I want to listen to pandora without taking days to find a way to install a plugin to make it work. I know I sound snarky but I was really treated crappy by the "great linux community" because I asked for something simple to be simple.

So is this linux different or is it more of the same where I have to get out notes and copy/paste commands in order to do simple things that should be click and install?