[SOLVED] Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:34 pm

It is my first try to linux and i installed mint 13 KDE yesterday and im stuck with 1024x768 instead of my orig resolution of 1366x768. So i browsed around and checked. some suggested i should install intel driver and uninstall vesa since i have intel integrated graphics. so i did but no luck. I also deleted xorg.conf since it has nothing in it.

here are are my details. hope someone can help. :oops:

Code: Select all
$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1024x768       76.0*


Code: Select all
$ inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: fbdev FAILED: intel Resolution: 1024x768@76.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x300) GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0


Code: Select all
$ sudo lshw -class display
[sudo] password for erik:
  *-display:0 UNCLAIMED   
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
       version: 09
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:90000000-903fffff memory:80000000-8fffffff ioport:50f0(size=8)
  *-display:1 UNCLAIMED
       description: Display controller
       product: Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2.1
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
       version: 09
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:93400000-934fffff


note: i also had problem booting yesterday but i fixed it adding
Code: Select all
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash i915.modeset=0"
in grub. dont know if that affected anything about res.
Last edited by yarixen on Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby caf4926 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:05 am

Those graphics should work out of the box

What is it like when you boot the live cd/dvd?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:20 am

caf4926 wrote:Those graphics should work out of the box

What is it like when you boot the live cd/dvd?

You mean when i was using the cd installer? resolution was also about the same as now (everything looks big :? ). btw i installed through compatability mode. not sure if that matters.
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby caf4926 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:29 am

yarixen wrote:
caf4926 wrote:Those graphics should work out of the box

What is it like when you boot the live cd/dvd?

You mean when i was using the cd installer? resolution was also about the same as now (everything looks big :? ). btw i installed through compatability mode. not sure if that matters.


Could you not boot to the live desktop from the default option?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:37 am

caf4926 wrote:
Could you not boot to the live desktop from the default option?


It wont boot there. Turns black (like the monitor is off) and then nothing.

I tried CD and also bootable usb. then i also tried mint 13 cinnamon. and just the same it goes black if not through compatability mode. do you think this may have been the problem?

BTW thanks for the replies brother. :D
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby caf4926 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:47 am

On a Live CD
With the default boot selected
Press [TAB] ( I think) to edit the boot arguments and add in: nomodeset
What results?
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:03 am

caf4926 wrote:On a Live CD
With the default boot selected
Press [TAB] ( I think) to edit the boot arguments and add in: nomodeset
What results?

Ok so I did. but no luck the monitor still turns off. I can hear the launch sound though.
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby caf4926 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:17 am

From your installed system
Please post result of

Code: Select all
lspci -nnk
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:25 am

caf4926 wrote:From your installed system
Please post result of

Code: Select all
lspci -nnk


I really appreciate your help Sir. BTW tried again but using usb adding nomodeset like suggested earlier it did push through in default but resolution is still the same as 1024x768

here are the result:

~ $ lspci -nnk
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub [8086:2a40] (rev 09)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2a42] (rev 09)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel modules: i915
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2a43] (rev 09)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:2937] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.1 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 [8086:2938] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1a.7 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 [8086:293c] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:293e] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:2940] (rev 03)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:2942] (rev 03)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 [8086:2944] (rev 03)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:2934] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.1 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:2935] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.2 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:2936] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.7 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 [8086:293a] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller [8086:2919] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel modules: iTCO_wdt
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 82801IBM/IEM (ICH9M/ICH9M-E) 4 port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [8086:2929] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:2930] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel modules: i2c-i801
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller [1180]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Thermal Subsystem [8086:2932] (rev 03)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
04:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002a] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Quanta Microsystems, Inc EM303 802.11bgn Wireless Mini PCIe Card [AR9281] [1a32:0303]
Kernel driver in use: ath9k
Kernel modules: ath9k
05:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet [1969:1063] (rev c0)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0260]
Kernel driver in use: atl1c
Kernel modules: atl1c
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:28 am

BTW i should have mentioned from start - Im dual booting with windows 7 :|
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby caf4926 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:00 am

I did a bit of digging and found some related threads at openSUSE
http://forums.opensuse.org/english/get- ... phics.html

Read it all and follow links

Your driver IS loaded though!

Make sure kernel modes setting is enabled, that means you should remove any nomodeset entry in grub and as I read it, it might be worth editing out the vga=*** option in there too,
You make these changes as one off edits to test them, them make the proper if they work.

Sorry I'm not much help.......
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:18 am

Thanks for looking it up and helping. Ill try my best to understand from your link. I am really excited about this being new and starting linux. just hope that i cant fix this res or else i need to remove it and back to solo windows, take care.
Last edited by yarixen on Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby Lord_Eager on Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:25 am

I think you have a driver problem, from the :

inxi -G

result you posted, it shows
Code: Select all
    Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
               X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: fbdev FAILED: intel Resolution: 1024x768@76.0hz
               GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x300) GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0


while it should show:

Code: Select all
drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)


You are not using intel drivers.
You could try however to generate a modline with the non-native resolution you want typing:

gtf 1366 768 60


then using xrandr mode (see xrandr --help) to make the new xrandr modline and to add it to your VGA out (or any other output you have)
Lord_Eager
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:59 am

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:33 am

I think i can do the xrandr modeline (base on how its see from others) but I dont know how to add to VGA. I hope you can please walk me through on how to do it. I am new with this and im not even sure if i know what im doin :lol: :oops:

gtf 1366 768 60

# 1368x768 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 47.70 kHz; pclk: 85.86 MHz
Modeline "1368x768_60.00" 85.86 1368 1440 1584 1800 768 769 772 795 -HSync +Vsync
Last edited by yarixen on Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:35 am

also how to i get to make it to this drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) ?
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby oobetimer on Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:51 am

User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:34 pm

appreciate it. now downloading knoppix. will post back tomorrow.
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby Lord_Eager on Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:26 pm

actually intel does not release proprietary drivers, they just give source codes to developers to add the drivers to linux kernels... so usually intel cards should work out of the box, when they don't there's not much to do, it means they're not supported. But your card should work out of the box, so, we have to see what happened of wrong.

But before doing this tha could be long and painful :D you could just try to add the modline with xrandr and if ti works you could just stay with actual drivers.

Using xrandr is quite easy:

xrandr --newmode 1368x768_60.00 85.86 1368 1440 1584 1800 768 769 772 795 -HSync +Vsync


if it goes straight without errors type:

xrandr --addmode output 1368x768_60.00

where "output" is your actual output, to know which is just type:

xrandr


and read the second line, it should say VGA0 or VGA1 if you ar eusing an analogic monitor, otherwise should say DVI or HDMI, or LVDS if on a notebook... Pick that string and put in the place of output, and if ti goes straight without errors, typing :
xrandr
now should let you see your new mode.

To test it you can type:

xrandr --output output --mode 1368x768_60.00
Lord_Eager
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:59 am

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:55 am

@ Lord_Eager - Thank you for making it easy for me.
The problem is it gave these errors.

what does it mean it failed to get size of gamma for output?

Code: Select all
 ~ $ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       61.0*

Code: Select all
 ~ $ xrandr --newmode 1368x768_60.00 85.86 1368 1440 1584 1800 768 769 772 795 -HSync +Vsync
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default


Appreciate you helping. :D
Last edited by yarixen on Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: Why am I stuck with 1024x768 res?

Postby yarixen on Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:04 am


I tried running knoppix from cd - and monitor goes off during booting - same as when i first tried the mint CD. In Mint the work around was to install though compatabilty mode and then later edit grub to add nomodeset. how can work around dying monitor in knoppix?
yarixen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], gingertom5005, Google [Bot], JDSeverus and 21 guests