Sound gone--need help. solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Sound gone--need help. solved

Postby wallowinthemire on Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:40 pm

So I've been trying to mess around with the audio settings to see how I could get my microphone capture to work, and when I finally got it to start working, I couldn't record--I could only hear myself through the computer by routing the output to the microphone input. However, once I turned this off, my audio playback no longer worked, so now I'm stuck here. I didn't really change anything substantial, and if I had any idea where to start looking I could probably solve this problem pretty quickly, but I have no clues as to what exactly might have happened while i was switching between the different audio devices and turning on/off different channels. Any help would be appreciated, thanks
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby edav on Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:53 pm

Hi,

Please right-click on the sound icon of the dashboard and open the mixer (Alsa). Then tell us which channels are displayed and the status of each of them.

edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby wallowinthemire on Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:58 pm

Well, there are two devices, one is the HDA intel and the other is an Audigy 2

For the latter, the Playback channels are PCM Front, there is a Capture channel and all three are unmuted.
The former shows Master, Headphone, Bass, Treble, 3D Control-Center, 3D Control-Depth, PCM, Line In, CD, Mic, PC Speaker (All are unmuted). There is also a PCM Capture channel that is unmuted.
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby edav on Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:03 pm

Hmm..."Microphone" and "PC Speaker" are muted in my mixer... and sound works.

Did you change anything in the Mint Control Center's sound applet?

edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby wallowinthemire on Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:06 pm

Yeah, at some point I changed the default mixer device a few times, but that never seemed to really do anything. Besides that, it doesn't look like there are that many options you can really change. I left all the other options alone. =\
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby edav on Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:32 pm

try to reset alsa:

Code: Select all
sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils reset
sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils restart

edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby wallowinthemire on Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:49 am

nope--that's a no go. :-\


-------edit--------
after reboot, sound came back after alsa was reset. Thanks :)
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help. solved

Postby tawan on Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:48 am

microphone not working

specifically Skype where i need it most
1) can record with sound audacity but skype can't hear me
2) read lots of forums, changed various settings;
ie, not muted, OSS, reset alsa, repaired stuff in package manager (nothing needed repairing)

System: HP dv1000 laptop, mint (gutsy 7.10), intel processor, Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)

--- Any tips beyond what I tried? please :-)


EDIT Useful fix (but not for me)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=314383

basically saying to edit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base by adding
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=xyz
at the end (where xyz is your computer manufacruter eg hp, lg, asus
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 36 guests