Sound gone--need help. solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Sound gone--need help. solved

Postby wallowinthemire on Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:40 pm

So I've been trying to mess around with the audio settings to see how I could get my microphone capture to work, and when I finally got it to start working, I couldn't record--I could only hear myself through the computer by routing the output to the microphone input. However, once I turned this off, my audio playback no longer worked, so now I'm stuck here. I didn't really change anything substantial, and if I had any idea where to start looking I could probably solve this problem pretty quickly, but I have no clues as to what exactly might have happened while i was switching between the different audio devices and turning on/off different channels. Any help would be appreciated, thanks
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby edav on Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:53 pm

Hi,

Please right-click on the sound icon of the dashboard and open the mixer (Alsa). Then tell us which channels are displayed and the status of each of them.

edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby wallowinthemire on Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:58 pm

Well, there are two devices, one is the HDA intel and the other is an Audigy 2

For the latter, the Playback channels are PCM Front, there is a Capture channel and all three are unmuted.
The former shows Master, Headphone, Bass, Treble, 3D Control-Center, 3D Control-Depth, PCM, Line In, CD, Mic, PC Speaker (All are unmuted). There is also a PCM Capture channel that is unmuted.
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby edav on Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:03 pm

Hmm..."Microphone" and "PC Speaker" are muted in my mixer... and sound works.

Did you change anything in the Mint Control Center's sound applet?

edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby wallowinthemire on Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:06 pm

Yeah, at some point I changed the default mixer device a few times, but that never seemed to really do anything. Besides that, it doesn't look like there are that many options you can really change. I left all the other options alone. =\
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby edav on Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:32 pm

try to reset alsa:

Code: Select all
sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils reset
sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils restart

edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help.

Postby wallowinthemire on Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:49 am

nope--that's a no go. :-\


-------edit--------
after reboot, sound came back after alsa was reset. Thanks :)
wallowinthemire
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: Sound gone--need help. solved

Postby tawan on Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:48 am

microphone not working

specifically Skype where i need it most
1) can record with sound audacity but skype can't hear me
2) read lots of forums, changed various settings;
ie, not muted, OSS, reset alsa, repaired stuff in package manager (nothing needed repairing)

System: HP dv1000 laptop, mint (gutsy 7.10), intel processor, Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)

--- Any tips beyond what I tried? please :-)


EDIT Useful fix (but not for me)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=314383

basically saying to edit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base by adding
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=xyz
at the end (where xyz is your computer manufacruter eg hp, lg, asus
User avatar
tawan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:45 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anandrkris, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 21 guests