Newbie needs help with mintUpdate.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Newbie needs help with mintUpdate.

Postby ctothebizza on Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:51 am

Hey everyone! I'm a complete newbie who got fed up with windows and thought I'd give this a shot. After a clean install, I can't get mintUpdate to do any updating. Here is what happened:

I just freshly installed Linux Mint, and after it booted up, I noticed that the icon in the toolbar says that there are 49 updates to install. When I click on it, mintUpdate hangs. Finally, after about 15 minutes, I got to the screen with the heading "Keep your system up-to-date." It showed no updates, so I clicked on refresh, and the window grayed out, and I watched the cursor spin for another 25 minutes, and nothing happens. Does this mean that everything is up to date? I really appreciate any help you can give me. Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is a dumb question.
ctothebizza
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Newbie needs help with mintUpdate.

Postby McLovin on Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:00 am

Its not dumb, it's actually kind of puzzling, cause if you did a fresh install, there should be quite a few updates. What are you system specs, and when you burned the ISO, did you use the lowest speed? also, can you connect to the internet? This could be a few different things, so we need as much info as you can provide.
McLovin
Level 5
Level 5

Postby ctothebizza on Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:10 am