Cinnamon not working on Acer Aspire One D270

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Cinnamon not working on Acer Aspire One D270

Postby send4m3 on Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:27 pm

Hi, we are buying netbook acer aspire one d270, and we are installing linux mint 13, with cinnamon Xwindow installed, and we found that a lot of effect not working and when we move the panel to top of screen is not working too. I found that this netbook using GMA 3600, if we are not wrong on identified the graphics card, please help on how we are solving this things. thanks.
send4m3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:12 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cinnamon not working on Acer Aspire One D270

Postby akimmitt on Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:36 pm

Hi,

I've had a very similar problem when installing Cinnamon Mint 13, also on a new Aspire One D270. Some of the settings are inaccesible because right-clicking on the menu bar doesn't do anything. I only recently realised that my Desktop Environment doesn't look like it should on a new installation of Cinnamon Mint 13 (from looking at Youtube videos, tutorial screenshots etc).

It might be a missing driver? Or a set of settings missing - I don't know. I've been running Ubuntu as a bit of a noob for a few years, and can run (very basic) terminal commands - I know enough just to get by, but can't think what's gone on here.

Has anyone got any ideas?
akimmitt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:42 am

Re: Cinnamon not working on Acer Aspire One D270

Postby Z-Xylon on Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:17 pm

Have you tried installing official dirvers, or updating them?
Also, try going to Cinnamon2D (choose Cinnamon2D at MDM) and see if that helps.

EDIT: Maybe you could post a screenshot of what your desktop looks like?
This is blue. And this is my blog about technology and stuff.
Z-Xylon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 6:43 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mhayta, scrognoid and 23 guests